The Easter Pie

Torta Pasqualina

Just before Easter, Susan found this recipe for “Torta Pasqualina”, or Easter Pie. I thought it looked and sounded great, so I decided to make it Sunday night.

I was a bit horrified at the idea of using 4 sheets of puff pastry for 4 servings, especially when I looked at the package and figured out that there’s nearly 1000 calories in one pastry sheet.

My plan had been to cut the recipe in half, and then use only one sheet of pastry instead of two, rolling it out to the size needed. But as I started making it, I realized that she had used 14-oz ramekins (mine are 7-oz), and that although she had made 4 “individual” pies, they would have been huge servings. I wasn’t sure that a 7-oz ramekin would hold enough for a single serving, so I scrapped the idea of individual ones and decided to use a small casserole dish instead. (In retrospect, I think the smaller ramekins probably would have worked out OK.)

Torta Pasqualina

It was just perfect for 4 servings, although I only put 2 eggs in the middle, and I think next time I’ll put 3 or 4. To reheat the remainder, I cut it into 2 pieces, warmed it in the microwave oven, and then popped it in the toaster oven and broiled it to crisp up the crust. It worked out fine. I’m sure reheating it entirely in the oven would have been better, but I was in a hurry.

We really liked this, and I’ll definitely make it again.

Here’s my version. You could, of course, double the recipe and make it in a larger dish:

Torta Pasqualina
Adapted from bell’alimento
Serves 4

½ pound fresh spinach, trimmed
½ tablespoon butter
1 clove garlic, minced
salt and pepper to taste
3/4 cup ricotta cheese (I used homemade)
4 to 6 eggs
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
½ tablespoon fresh oregano, chopped
dash ground nutmeg
1 sheet Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry, thawed
cooking spray

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Melt butter in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Add spinach and garlic. Sauté until wilted, then set aside until cool enough to handle. After it has cooled, squeeze out as much liquid as possible, then chop it.

Beat 2 of the eggs in a medium bowl. Add the ricotta and Parmesan cheeses, bread crumbs, heavy cream, nutmeg, and herbs. Add salt and pepper to taste, and mix. Add the chopped spinach and stir to combine.

Roll out the puff pastry to about 20” x 10” or slightly larger, then cut in half to make two 10 or 11” squares.

Spray a 1-quart casserole dish with cooking spray. Place one of the pastry squares in the casserole to form the bottom crust. Add the ricotta mixture. Make 2 or 4 indentations in the top of the mixture to hold the eggs. Carefully crack an egg into each indentation, without breaking the yoke (you may want to crack the egg into a cup first). Place the other half of the pastry on top, and crimp the edges to seal. Prick the top with a fork, being careful not to prick the areas over the egg yolks. (An egg wash on top would probably nice, or brush the top with a bit of olive oil – I might do that next time.)

Bake for 40-50 minutes or until the crust is golden.

Torta Pasqualina

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Easter Pie

  1. Chris says:

    It looks very tasty!

  2. margene says:

    It looks extra yummy with the egg. Wish someone made a good GF puff pastry.

  3. Rachel says:

    Hmmm,,, it looks very tasty and pretty too!
    I will have to try it one of these days. Thank you for sharing.

  4. susan says:

    Thanks for being the guinea pig!

  5. joan says:

    (Note to self: Do not read Cheryl when you are hungry.)

    Yum!

  6. marianne says:

    It looks delicious, and it’s so Pretty! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

