Slipper Fail

Recently I purchased two skeins of Drops “Big Delight” yarn (yes, I hear some of you snickering) – one in a blue mix, and one in a raspberry mix. I didn’t really know what I was going to do with them, but I was placing an order with NordicMart when all of their wool yarns were on sale, and I thought it would be fun to try. Since it’s aran-weight with long color changes, I thought it might make an interesting substitute for Noro.

Then about a week ago, I saw that the new Drops pattern collection had gone online, and saw this slipper pattern, which said it took 100 grams (1 ball). I had my doubts that I could really make such large slippers out of 219 yards of yarn, but I went ahead and tried it anyway. Hey, it’s just knitting, right? And I was fascinated by the slipper construction.

Well, of course, this is what happened. After 1 1/2 slippers, I and ran out of yarn.

Allegria slippers

So now I need to decide what to do.  I could try using some of the yarn from the other skein I have. I don’t think the raspberry color would work all that well with the blue, but if I cut that out, the beige and browns would probably work.

Or I could just rip out what I have and make something else. There’s certainly enough to make smaller slippers that don’t go over the ankle.

While I mull it over, here’s what the finished one looks like when worn (minus the buttons, of course):

Allegria slippers

Currently I’m thinking about reknitting them with a similar heel/foot construction, but only ankle high.

Edited to add: Since all of the first comments on this post suggest buying another skein, I guess I should explain why I’m not interested in doing that – I bought the initial skein of yarn when it was 35% off and I was placing an order anyway, so there was no additional shipping cost. To buy another skein now, I’d not only pay full price for the yarn, but the flat-rate shipping cost would be 2/3rds of the cost of the yarn on top of that. Since I was only making the slippers to find a use for the yarn I already had, that seems pretty silly – especially when I wouldn’t have made them in the first place if I’d expected them to cost that much. (If I were going to order from the company again soon, I’d just wait and buy a skein then – but I don’t have any plans for that.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Slipper Fail

  1. It does look rather lovely. Would buying an extra skein be an option?

  2. Gretchen says:

    Beautiful colors! I like the high cuff. So instead of reknitting with shorter cuff, I’d be tempted to just purchase another skein!!

  3. sazcreates says:

    That’s a beautiful yarn! I agree with the others who’ve posted I think, another skein if that’s at all possible? Seems a shame to make them ankle high when they look lovely like that! x

  4. zeneedle says:

    It looks warm and durable. I’d go for the extra skein because I think you’d wear the finish product.

  5. I say rip back and make ankle height ones. It’s a lovely looking slipper!

  6. Rachel says:

    I have an idea that I am not sure will work: Maybe you can rip and instead of knitting ankle only slippers do the top part but shorter version of it so you will have enough yarn for 2. If you think you will have enough yarn for a short version with only one button instead of 2 maybe it will be nice? what do you think?

  7. Marilyn says:

    Beautiful yarn and very interesting construction…
    Rip out the foot part. Finish the flappy thing with that and use a different yarn, maybe a solid?, for the feet on both slippers.

  8. Marilyn says:

    feet/toes…whatever you want to call the ribbed part.

  9. Cookie says:

    Oh yeah. Ankle-ish would do the trick.

  10. vicki says:

    I see they’ve changed the yarn requirements to 200g on the pattern. Looks like an interesting knit…

Leave a Reply

