The Sock Virgin

Last night I attended my first SLC Stitch ‘n Bitch. Great group – I had a very nice time. It was revealed, however, that I am, in fact, a sock virgin. Sigh. I guess if I’m going to be in the group, I’m going to have to change my ways. I don’t know why I haven’t really been inspired to knit socks, especially when I have to wear them to bed 3/4 of the year to keep my feet from freezing. Maybe it’s because I often put Bag Balm on my heels before putting on the socks at night, and I can’t stand the thought of doing that with something I spent hours knitting. Maybe it’s the idea of even more “hand wash and dry flat”. (Yes, I know, some can be machine washed and dried.)

Some days I wonder why I even have a dryer, for as often as I use it. I do admit that all of my hand washing gets done in the washing machine (love those mesh bags)! But then, I run out of places to dry everything “flat”. Nothing like a house covered in laundry. I guess it could be worse – when my parents young (and my dad was a starving student), they lived in a poorly-insulated trailer in Wisconsin. No running water in the trailer. There was a Quonset hut for all water-related needs. Normally she had to line-dry everything (there were no dryers), but during the winter they couldn’t do that, so she’d spread everything around the trailer (sheets and all). It was so cold that the water would freeze on them, and she’d have to shake off the ice. Interesting way to dry something. Even worse, my older sister was just a baby, so there were diapers to deal with. Every morning my mom had to crack through the ice at the top of the diaper pail. So, I guess I shouldn’t complain. But I do wish all those clothing manufacturers would get a clue, and understand why it was that we bought washing machines and dryers in the first place. It certainly wasn’t just to have more flat surface to dry things on.

But I digress… (sock avoidance?)

So back to socks. It isn’t as if I haven’t thought about knitting socks. I even have some sock yarn in my stash. I remember talking to a woman in a local yarn shop who was shopping for sock yarn. She said if you can knit socks, you can knit anything. (I guess that probably doesn’t apply to tube socks.) So what’s the problem? Maybe it’s just because I don’t really wear a lot of socks. I’m usually either wearing nylons (for work), or I’m bare-legged. But then again, maybe if I had some really nice socks that I actually made myself, I’d wear them more often. Hmmmm, maybe that’s the problem — I’m afraid of developing a sock fetish? Well, no, probably not. More likely it’s just procrastination, and having to face a “new challenge”. Like they say, “It’s the start that stops most people”.

So now that I’ve joined the S&B, maybe I’ll finally get the motivation and support I need to take the plunge, and be a sock virgin no more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sock Virgin

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi,I am your “previous” on the Ewe-tah Knits ring.I am a sock virgin too, but those self-striping yarns make it very tempting. I didn’t know there was an SLC SnB, when and where do you meet?

  2. margene says:

    Just hang around the SnB grrls long enough and you’ll decide there is something magic about knitting socks. You may not become addicted but you won’t be able to resist the call.

Leave a Reply

