A Lovely Weekend

Well, I still haven’t been knitting. But I guess I could at least show you how far I’ve gotten on Valpuri. I’m starting the shaping on the back for the sleeves, so at least it won’t be long before the back is finished. Whenever I get back to it, anyway.

In the meantime, I had a great weekend. My dad and stepmother were in town from Georgia for the NCAA championships, which just happened to be perfect timing for my retirement/birthday celebrations.

We went to the gymnastics on Friday and Saturday nights. It was great – UGA took first, and Utah took second, when neither team expected to do that well. My husband took my dad and stepmother down to Thanksgiving Point on Saturday for the end of the Tulip festival, and to see the Dinosaur museum. They really enjoyed both.

Then yesterday we went up the canyon for brunch at Silver Fork Lodge. As you can see from the photo, it’s still too early to go for a walk around Silver Lake, but it was beautiful, and the weather was fantastic. (I’m not quite sure whether to be pleased about the nice weather, or concerned about yesterday’s record-breaking high of 89 degrees.) For the afternoon, we took a drive out to the Kennecott Bingham Copper Mine. There’s only so many times I really enjoy seeing a big hole in the ground, no matter how huge, but they wanted to go. And it was a nice drive through the valley. Then in the evening we had a lovely family-and-close-friends dinner party. A good time was had by all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Lovely Weekend

  1. Jacquie says:

    Sounds like the perfect weekend to start your new life

  2. Lauren says:

    Didn’t you just start that top? You are quick!

  3. Heather Joins The Round says:

    Congratulations again on your retirement!Did they at least have the new visitor’s center open? I, too, have been to the Bingham Canyon Mine many, many times. Big hole.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Just found your blog and I am enjoying reading it. I love to knit, spin and weave and for a little while I lived in Heber City (love the Wasatch Mountains)!

Leave a Reply

