Sorrel and Tarragon

Yesterday Susan gave me some fresh sorrel and tarragon from her garden. I love cooking with fresh herbs, but had never used sorrel before. And although I have some tarragon in the garden, I planted it last year from a small pot, so the plant is still pretty small.

So last night I did a little ‘net searching to figure out what to do with the sorrel. It looks somewhat like spinach, but has a strong lemony taste to it. I had been planning to cook broccoli anyway, and one of the recipes I came across was Sorrel Sauce for Steamed Broccoli. Well, there you go. The verdict? The sauce was good, but wasn’t overly exciting on the broccoli. Not bad, just not great. But I think the leftover sauce will be lovely on the salmon I’m planning to make for dinner. Especially if I add a touch of tarragon to it.

I also saw a few recipes for sorrel omelettes. Hmmm, that sounded interesting. So this morning I made up my own version, using both sorrel and tarragon, and I thought it was quite tasty! I’d certainly make it again. Here’s my recipe:

Sorrel and Tarragon Omelette
2 eggs
1/2 tablespoon cream
about 10 sorrel leaves, cleaned and trimmed
1 tablespoon butter, divided
1 sprig of fresh tarragon, leaves only
pinch of salt

Shred or finely chop the sorrel. In an 8″ or 10″ skillet, heat half the butter and add the sorrel and salt. Cook for a few minutes, stirring, until the leaves are cooked down and gray-green. Remove from heat. Combine the eggs and cream in a bowl, beating gently. Chop the tarragon leaves. Add the tarragon and the sorrel mixture to the eggs and combine. Add the remaining butter to the skillet and heat until the butter is slightly browned. Add the egg mixture and stir briskly until the eggs are evenly spread on the bottom of the skillet. Keep moving or lifting the egg mixture around until the eggs are just set – do not overcook. Fold the omelette over in thirds and serve.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sorrel and Tarragon

  1. susan says:

    Look at you! Just making recipes up as the mood suits you.

  2. Erin says:

    So fun! Sounds like you have had a tasty weekend.

  3. Katherine Of It All says:

    Looks wonderful! I gotta crash your house at breakfast time someday.

  4. Stephanie says:

    oooohhh…that omelette sounds GREAT!

Leave a Reply

