Another Reason to Hate TV

If you’re an American Idol fan, you may want to step away from your computer now. Or at least stop now and point your browser elsewhere. My apologies in advance.

My sister made me watch American Idol last night. Live – no ff’ing. Just a lot of WTF’ing. Sorry, but I just don’t get it at all. I don’t have a problem with the general concept of the show – having singing contestants perform, and having the audience vote for a favorite. And yes, there’ve been some good performers who’ve come out of it, and Jordin was a pleasure to watch and listen to. But the execution of the show is something else. The one time I watched an episode before (well, part of one) was in it’s early days, and I couldn’t stand the cruelty of the comments by the ‘judges’. Sorry, but I don’t find that funny at all. Obviously it hasn’t gotten any better, given that whole ‘bush baby’ crap and the rest of the Golden Idol garbage. I’m not sure what’s more sad – that people do such pathetically ridiculous things to get on TV, or that the public finds it so funny to watch people being rude and cruel to each other.

Yes, there were some good performances. And some really bad ones. And not just from the contestants – I was totally embarassed for Bette Midler. I can only hope that something was wrong and that she hasn’t really lost her voice. If I’d had control of the remote, I’d have muted the TV. It was totally painful.

And what’s with all the old performers? Yes, I know, they’re mentors. But who is the audience for this show? What are the demographics? I kept wondering if most of the viewers even had any idea who Tony Bennett is. Maybe the target audience is a lot older than I’d think, but what a weird mixture. Not that I didn’t like seeing Smokey Robinson or Gladys Knight, of course – they’re still in fine singing form (and evidently keeping their plastic surgeons wealthy). It just seemed like it was geared for target audience in their 50’s and 60’s, which I’d think would be way older than the average age of the audience, but hey, what the fuck do I know – maybe that’s right on target.

OK, maybe the show would make a lot more sense if I knew the whole background and actually watched it on a regular basis. But it just ain’t gonna happen. Not no way, not no how.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another Reason to Hate TV

  1. Margene says:

    Me too! I’ve never watched and can’t imagine liking it at all!

  2. susan says:

    I’m proud to say I’ve never seen a single episode. Oh, wait . . . I don’t watch TV.

  3. Lauren says:

    Ugh, you could not pay me to watch American Idol. I’m so glad I’m weaning myself off of TV.

  4. Jacquie says:

    I watch all the time. Simon Cowell tells it like it is and although he is rude sometimes he is usually right and he does equally say when a singer has done really well. If you were to watch regularly you would find that Simon’s is the opinion they respect most negative or positive.I do agree about the songs generally being oldies – sometimes the contestants sing songs written before they were even born. I put this down partly to them not getting permission to use more modern songs maybe, other than that I don’t know. I guess they want to get older artistes to pass on the benefit of their experience. As for who it is aimed at – I think it is everyone now, but was a younger audience to start with.

  5. Katherine Of It All says:

    Bleh! I wish the damn thing would go away forever. I don’t get it either.

  6. Ilix says:

    I have to agree, I have friends who arrange get togethers based on TV programs. I hate it. What wierds me out about the whole thing is that more people think they can make a difference voting on a pop singer than a leader for their country. If one vote counts for American Idol…… it does in a federal election, no matter where you are!

  7. Jodi says:

    I’m right there with you — I just don’t get it. It’s also not my kind of music.

Leave a Reply

