Back From Vacation

Whew! I got back last night from a lovely week’s vacation with my sister. My bedroom looks like my suitcase exploded everywhere, which isn’t far from the truth. It was pretty full when I started, and was bulging when I returned.

We went to a cooking retreat in the Catskills (near Woodstock), but there weren’t any flights that would work to get me to the resort by 5pm on Friday, since no matter what airport I chose, there’d still be a long drive. Since my sister lives in Chelmsford (a town outside of the Boston area), and would be driving to the resort anyway, we figured it would be better for me to fly to Boston a couple of days early, and then drive there together.

The retreat was wonderful. We had lots of delicious and healthy food (it was held by the Conscious Gourmet), and I went to my first-ever yoga sessions.

Since we were driving from Boston to New York, Susan said that if we were going by Webs, we shouldn’t miss going there. Since it was only 10 miles off the Interstate, we took a detour and did exactly that. WOW! She was right, it was not to be missed. (Thanks, Susan!) And as luck would have it, it was the last day of their anniversary sale. It was totally overwhelming, and I had to keep telling myself that I couldn’t buy anything that wasn’t on sale. Otherwise, there was just too much to choose from. And I certainly didn’t have the time to browse through all of the books and patterns.
Yarn from Webs
Hampered by the fact that we were on a tight time schedule, I had very little room in my suitcase, and that I wasn’t prepared with a yarn “want list”, I couldn’t get too crazy. And some of the sale yarns didn’t have enough of a particular color and dye lot left to be too useful. But I did bring home a small addition to my stash: A couple of skeins of Cascade 220 in a lovely heathered dark red for a purse, some Debbie Bliss Cathay (I have a specific pattern in mind for that), and a bag of Jo Sharp Silkroad DK Tweed. I have nothing specific in mind for that, but I couldn’t pass it up.

I had lots of time for knitting, but not a lot to show for it. I spent most of the time working on Icarus, and only have a few rows left of the last chart, plus the four edging rows left. Now I’m just worried about running out of yarn. I found a few errors in the lace while I was on the plane back, but I just couldn’t make myself rip out several hours of work to fix them properly (and probably just make more mistakes while re-knitting), so I just fixed them the best I could. It won’t be perfect, but I don’t need perfection. I’m sure it will be beautiful anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back From Vacation

  1. Margene says:

    Icarus WILL be beautiful anyway. Nice score…it’s good to have you home!

  2. Lark says:

    New England and upstate NY in the spring. I bet it was a lovely time. Visits with sisters are so much fun. You have this shared history that no friend can touch. Great stash! You can just call Icarus your Amish shawl. Amish folk purposely put mistakes in quilts as a statement of humility. Just another one of the reasons why I love ya!

  3. Katherine Of It All says:

    Lucky! The whole trip sounds like so much fun!

Leave a Reply

