Icarus Unleashed

icarus
Here she is, in all her glory. Or should that be “him”? There are a few irregularities here and there, but nothing I can’t live with. I’m very happy with it, and I love how it drapes. Although it took me months to complete, there were long stretches when I didn’t work on it at all. The pattern was well-written and easy to follow, even though I’m fairly new to lace.

remaining yarn from Icarus

And how much yarn was left? Well, not tons, but enough to feel comfortable recommending this yarn for the pattern. I ended up with about 4 grams left out of the 100-gram skein. I wasn’t exactly panicking, but I must admit I was getting slightly nervous about it during the last few rows, since I’m not good about estimating how much is left. I’m a loose knitter and usually go down one needle size, but I stuck with the recommended needle size for this pattern – so anyone who knits closer to gauge shouldn’t have any trouble.

The bad part (nothing to do with the pattern!) is that it killed my fingers to knit this. Towards the end, my right thumb and forefinger would be numb before I completed a single row, but the end result was worthwhile. I don’t have a problem with small DPNs, or with larger-sized circulars, so it must be something about how I grip the smaller-sized circular needles that causes me so much trouble.

Pattern: “Icarus”, by Miriam Felton
Yarn: Alpaca With a Twist “Fino” (70% baby alpaca, 30% silk), in “Ruby Slippers”
Needles: US 3
Modifications: None other than the yarn
Started: Nov 14, 2006
Finished: June 3, 2007

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Icarus Unleashed

  1. Margene says:

    Icarus is truly gorgeous! Love the color you used…nice work on your first big lace project!

  2. Heather Joins the Round says:

    That is just lovely! I look forward to seeing you wear it.

  3. Miriam says:

    It’s really beautiful Cheryl! Will I get to see it tomorrow night?

  4. Lauren says:

    Beautiful!!

  5. Lark says:

    Absolutely stunning, like the maker and the designer–a true statement piece!

  6. Jacquie says:

    Another one for the “I can’t believe I really knitted this” list! That is a gorgeous color too. Hope to see it for real tomorrow?

  7. susan says:

    Fabulous, Cheryl. And I can’t believe how close you came to running out of yarn. Frightening.

  8. Kris says:

    Oh wow, beautiful! Bring it tomorrow night, definitely!

  9. Sandy says:

    Your shawl looks *wonderful* – and I, too, love the color!

  10. Leslie says:

    It is beautiful!! Really soft looking! I think I have to cast on for one.

Leave a Reply

