Trick Pony

trickpony
I took Susan’s “Create Your Own Sock” class because although I’ve only made a few pairs of socks, I wanted to try new techniques, and not just be a “one trick pony”.

The lace design I selected for the sock pattern was “Horseshoe Print” from “The Ultimate Sourcebook of Knitting and Crochet Stitches“, adapted for knitting in the round. Between the lace pattern and my reason for creating the sock pattern, what else could I name them, but…

“Trick Pony Socks”

Yarn:
Spunky Eclectic Super Nova (90% Superwash Merino, 10% nylon), 1 hank, colorway “Road Trip”

Needles: US 1 for the leg, US 1.5 for the heel and foot

New Tricks:

  • Casting on in rib
  • “Eye of Partridge” heel flap
  • Star Toe

Notes:

The Super Nova yarn is very nice, and I was really pleased with how the handpainted yarn worked out with the lace pattern. My plan was to choose something that would break up the stripes a bit, and it did. I used a rib pattern for the cuff to give the appearance of the rib flowing into the lace design. I’d only done wedge toes before, and I really liked the star toe much better. Not because I don’t have to graft the toe – I don’t have any trouble with the Kitchener stitch – but the shape of the wedge toe just doesn’t fit my toes as well as this one does.

The recommended needle size for the yarn was US2, but since I knit loosely, I had to use smaller needles. I started with US 1 only because I didn’t have 1.5’s. They worked well for the leg, but I could tell it would be too tight for the foot, so I bought some 1.5’s and switched to them at the heel flap. I think working the entire sock on 1.5’s would have been fine, but the legs aren’t too tight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trick Pony

  1. Margene says:

    You did a fabulous job of designing your first sock! Good work in figuring out what worked best.I’m looking forward to the 34 degree drop in the weather…it was unbearable last night.

  2. Lauren says:

    They look great, good job! I need to try that yarn.

  3. susan says:

    They’re fantastic. The toe fits you very nicely.

  4. Amy Boogie says:

    our socks look gorgeous. I love them 🙂

  5. Sandy says:

    The socks look great. You’re inspiring me to check out my LYS’s class schedule to see if anything interesting is coming up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

