Valpuri Finished

valpuri
I finished the Valpuri top this weekend. I had a bit of a struggle figuring out how to deal with the cables at the shoulders on the front and back, so I just sort of faked it. I got smarter for the sleeves, and charted out the pattern and decreases, so I could figure out what to do with the cables when I started decreasing into them. If I made this top again, I’d certainly do the same with the front and back.

Overall, I’m pleased with the result. It fits well, and it was an interesting knit. Not too difficult, but not too simple, either. There was enough going on to keep my interest, without getting either bored or frustrated. I thought it would go more quickly than it did, but the cables slowed me down quite a bit.

I used Rowan All Seasons Cotton, which knitted up to the correct pattern gauge. The top is probably a bit too bulky to want to wear in really hot weather, but it should be nice in spring and fall.

Pattern: Berroco Valpuri (free pattern)

Size: X-Small.

Modifications: Used Rowan “All-Seasons Cotton”, 7 skeins. I purchased 8 skeins as recommended in the pattern, but the Rowan has slightly more yardage, and I just squeaked by with 7. If I’d only had 7 skeins of the recommended yarn, I’d have been sweating bullets.

Started: April 16, 2007
Finished: June 10, 2007

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Valpuri Finished

  1. Christy says:

    Wow, it looks great.

  2. Jacquie says:

    Looks lovely and complicated

  3. Margene says:

    It’s a wonderful top and looks very classic and classy!

  4. Lauren says:

    I love it, it looks great!

  5. Lark says:

    My mind works in strange ways. Here are my thoughts:”Look at those cables, very complex. Hmmm, the color is neutral. Can neutrals be complex? If so, what else am I missing as I view the world? What is as it seems?…”Oy. Sometimes I just ought not go where my mind leads.Blue skies,Lark

  6. ikkinlala says:

    It looks great!

  7. Katherine Of It All says:

    Holy cow! Good job! It’s beautiful. I’m so envious of your mad skills, honey.

  8. Erin says:

    Beautiful! What a great top.

  9. Karma says:

    Lovely! I’ve had this top in the back of my mind since I saw it on a Berrocco newsletter. I happen to have some Rowan ASC in the stash in one of my favorite colors, so now I think I have a plan! Yours turned out so well.

Leave a Reply

