Are they Queue Worthy?

Interweave Knits Fall 2007 has arrived. And a cable-y one it is, too. I’ve been going over the patterns, deciding whether or not they’re “queue worthy”. Ravelry queue, that is.

Here’s my impression of this issue’s patterns. For today at least – next week I might look at the patterns again and have completely different thoughts. I’m often like that. And please don’t take offense if you love something that I don’t care for. Just because I don’t think it’s right for ME doesn’t mean it I hate the pattern itself, or that it wouldn’t be great on you. By the way, many of my comments refer to the bonus photos at the website.

Hedgerow Coat: Looks nice, I like the cables, love the color. I don’t care for it belted – I think it’s too bulky for that, but I do like the bonus photo of the back, which really shows off the pattern. However, I don’t think I’d ever wear it if I made it.

Placed Cable Aran:
I like the honeycomb cables on the bodice, but I’m not wild about the cowl neck or the rolled hem. I could perhaps see myself making this with some modifications.

Dickinson Pullover: I do like the cables – and I think the back looks great in the bonus photo. But I wouldn’t wear a heavy pullover like that, not unless I moved someplace much colder than Utah.

Tangled Yoke Cardigan: Love it. Yep, I can see myself in this one. It’s already in my Ravelry Queue. Definitely queue-worthy.

Tyrolean Stockings:
I like the looks of these, but they’re too tall and too bulky for me personally. I’d keep them in mind for someone else, though.

Concentric Vest: Nope, not for me. I just can’t do those bulky clothes.

Snowball Hat: I’d probably have loved the pom-pom when I was 6. Or maybe even 16. But at my age, people would probably mistake me for an egg cup. But still, I think the model looks kind of cute in it.

Tilted Duster: I’m on the fence with this one. There’s a lot I like about it, especially how it looks in the back, but I’m not crazy about the way the bottom front pieces point “down dere” in the cover shot.

Minimalist Cardigan: Simple and classic. I like it, but don’t love it. I’m not exactly sure why, since it’s the kind of style I would normally go for. It actually reminds me of my father’s ancient letterman sweater, which my mother still wears when she’s gardening. (That’s neither good nor bad, just an observation.) If I owned it, I’d probably wear it. But I don’t think I’d ever knit it. Go figure.

Counterpane Pullover: I love the lace motif, and it’s an intriguing design concept. But I have a couple of problems with it – one is that’s probably going to be hot to wear, and I would certainly want to wear something under all that peek-a-boo lace, adding yet another layer to swelter in. Another thing is that although I think it looks great from the front, for some reason the photo of the back bothers me. I don’t know why – it’s probably just the way the model is standing in the bonus photo, trying to show off the design across the shoulders. The jury’s still out on this one.

Nomad Hat and Scarf: File that under “not for me”.

Cinnabar Pullover: I like it. I’m curious as to how it looks with the neck unbuttoned. Might make it into my queue.

Elfin Hat and Scarf Set:
Much too ‘young’ for me.

Leavened Raglan: Just give me the cookie, and nobody gets hurt. As for the sweater, I can’t see myself in it.

Belle Cardigan: Ditto what I said for the Concentric Vest.

Luna Dress: Ooh-la-la! Cute and sexy, though it’s another cowl neck, definitely not my favorite. Is it supposed to be in a ring like that? Maybe if it were folded differently I’d like it better. I do like the pattern, though. As soon as I lose 10 pounds, I’ll put it in my Ravelry queue. Maybe I’d better make that 15 pounds.

Little Red Dress:
Obviously cowl necks are a big thing this year. Sigh. This dress doesn’t quite ring my chimes like Luna.

Cobblestone Pullover: I’m pretty sure I’m never going to wear this one. Unless it’s the next morning and I’m wearing nothing but the sweater he flung off the previous night in a fit of passion… oops, sorry. Got a little carried away there.

Snowflake Socks: Cute. I think I need to take up color work one of these days.

Sweetheart Vest:
I think I had a vest like this in the 70’s. Maybe it was the 60’s. Anyway, it’s a nice enough vest, but I’m just not a pullover-vest kind of gal. At least, not any more.

Composed Mitts: I like the bright colors, and I know some people who would look great wearing these, but I wouldn’t make them for myself.

Mirepoix Bodice: I dunno – can’t see myself in this.

Staff Project Socks: I’ll lump these all together because I’m getting tired. I might make the Ambrosia Socks, but none of the others are really my style.

Web Project – Bryant’s Slipover: I really like it on the model – it looks great on her, but I’d probably never wear it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are they Queue Worthy?

  1. margene says:

    I feel the same way about almost everything…you just say it so much better;-)

  2. Stacey says:

    Great review! I haven’t received mine yet, but I’ve been looking at the preview and really didn’t see anything I’d knit.

    I love honest reviews like yours.

  3. Chris says:

    Cowl necks. Having a flashback to 20 years ago…

  4. isela says:

    I got the same feelings about many of the projects. Although, it did feel like the issue had more patterns than before.

    The one that will make it into my queu list is the Tangle Yoke Cardigan…very nice cables. I first need to lose a few pounds though.

Leave a Reply

