Curved Shawl Progress

Curved ShawlI finished most of the body of the VLT Curved Shawl when I was in Detroit – I only had a few rows left to knit, so I decided to finish them up so I could get it off the needles. I still have the border to do, but I have a ton of commitments this month, so I don’t know whether I’ll be able to finish it before the wedding I was planning to wear it to (at the end of the month).

Hmmmm… maybe I could block what I have, and just add the border later…

The lace is very stretchy, so I know it will block out much larger, but I still have a little concern about the size. The finished length is supposed to be 62″, and my unblocked length is only 43″. The border will probably add another 4 inches, but that still leaves a big difference. It won’t matter if it’s a little smaller, but it’s not a huge shawl to begin with.

I did go down a needle size, since I almost always need to do that in order to get gauge, so if it comes out small, it’s my own fault. But I’d rather have it be a little smaller than end up running out of yarn. If I’d been smarter, I’d have gotten a second ball of yarn and not have worried about it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Curved Shawl Progress

  1. Stacey says:

    ACK! I can’t see the picture, but I’m sure it is beautiful! I know I’m bad, but I never really worry about guage with shawls. If the lace pattern looks good with the size I’m using, I take the lazy way out and keep knitting. 🙂

  2. You can always wear it like a kerchief knotted jauntily about your neck, or a really great scarf in winter.

  3. Chris says:

    Ah, the suspense!

Leave a Reply

