As the Shawl Turns, the Conclusion

At the end of yesterday’s post, we were waiting to hear the conclusion of the saga of the shawl.

I pinned and stretched, blocking that puppy to within an inch of its life. And surprisingly, I came out closer to the pattern dimensions than I thought I would.

And the verdict? You be the judge:

Victorian Lace Today Curved Shawl 1
Victorian Lace Today Curved Shawl 2

Pattern: “Curved Shawl” from Victorian Lace Today

Yarn: Jade Sapphire Lacey Lamb, color 225, 1 ball – this was a great yarn to work with even though it’s so thin. It’s very soft and stretchy. I would certainly use it again.

Needles: US 2 instead of the US 3 listed for the pattern

Dimensions: The pattern specified 21″ x 62″, mine is 19″ x 57″

Notes: Since I knit loosely, and almost always need to go down a needle size, I used US 2 needles instead of US 3, to avoid running out of yarn. As it turns out, I probably would have been fine using the US 3, as the shawl ended up quite a bit smaller than the pattern, and I had tons of yarn left.

The ball of yarn is 60g, and I used 30g for the body of the shawl, and 10g for the border, so plan on the border taking about 1/3 as much yarn as the shawl.

I wasn’t too happy about the loop cast-on – it was difficult to work the first few rows, and difficult to find the loops to pick up for the border. I think if I were knitting it again, I would use a provisional cast-on.

The yarnovers at the outside edge of the border looked pretty sloppy until it was blocked, but they looked fine after blocking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to As the Shawl Turns, the Conclusion

  1. Stacey says:

    Beautiful! The shawl and the dress. You did a wonderful job. Good to see you finished it in time. šŸ™‚

  2. margene says:

    It’s very beautiful and I can attest to its softness.

  3. susan says:

    It looks great. I knew it would be a dream, not a dude.

  4. Lauren says:

    It looks beautiful, and you look great!

  5. Lark says:

    Oh yes, beautiful shawl and model.

  6. It looks fantastic! Can we have a shot of the back? You look amazing–you’re going to knock ’em dead at the wedding!

  7. Chris says:

    It’s lovely!! I’m glad that story had a happy ending.

  8. Carrie says:

    Yay, it looks beautiful! I’m going to post a pic of it on my blog. I agree, I’d like to see the back also. You look beautiful!

Leave a Reply

