From Lake to Shore

Presenting the Shore Set Hoodie, in Cotton-Ease “Lake”. Please excuse the lousy photo with the hood up – I wasn’t able to see how it looked, and my husband was in a hurry to take the photos because he was on his way out.

Shore Set Hoodie Shore Set Hoodie Shore Set Hoodie

Pattern: Shore Set Hoodie by Deborah Newton, from Knitter’s K86 Spring 2007

Size Made: Small

Yarn: Lion Brand Cotton-Ease, Color: Lake. I “think” I used 6 skeins.

Needles: US 10

Modifications: Substituted yarn, knitted in stockinette instead of reverse stockinette.

Notes:

The yarn called for in the pattern, JCA-Reynolds Blossom, is a textured yarn. The reverse stockinette in the pattern is designed to make the garment look sort of like terry-cloth.

Since I was substituting Cotton-Ease, which is smooth, I thought that stockinette would look better – so I modified the pattern to work the body in stockinette, with 2 purl stitches before and after each cable for definition. I also omitted the cables on the sleeves. Otherwise, I worked the pattern as written.

When I went to pick up the stitches for the hood trim, I realized I had goofed when I attached the hood – I attached it around the neck and down the “V” of the front, when it should have been just around the neck. But it looked OK so I left it alone.

The knitting itself is fairly simple, but there’s a lot of finishing – not just seams, but also attaching the hood and pockets, and then picking up and knitting the trim on the pockets and hood. It adds a nice touch, though.

I’m very pleased with how it turned out, and would certainly recommend the pattern.

Note: I’m not entirely sure how much yarn I used – I think I bought either 7 or 8 skeins of yarn, and had 1 totally unused skein plus some partly used skeins that add up to slightly over a full skein.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From Lake to Shore

  1. That turned out very nice, Cheryl!

  2. margene says:

    It’s a great look. Can’t wait to see it with the skirt!

  3. Stacey says:

    Very nice! I love how the pattern works with the pockets and your “mistake” at the neck looks great. I think it may have looked unfinished without it. πŸ˜€

  4. Pretty, pretty! The skirt will look great, too! πŸ™‚

  5. Chris says:

    It looks great on you! Hee hee – I like “otherwise I worked the pattern as written” – after all those changes! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

