Another FO

One more project in the “Instant Gratification” category.

Foliage Hat

Pattern: Foliage, from Knitty (version 2 for worsted weight yarn)

Yarn: Malabrigo worsted “Velvet Grapes”, about 2/3 of a skein

Needles: 4.5mm/US 6

This was a very quick project (done in 2 evenings), and it was the first time I’ve used Malabrigo, which is absolutely delicious. So soft and cuddly! It certainly won’t be the last time I use it – it’s wonderful.

I haven’t blocked the hat, so the lace pattern isn’t very open, but I think I like it that way.

The pattern calls for starting the hat on DPNs and then switching to a 16″ circular. I don’t have any 16″ circs, so I was planning to knit it all on DPNs. But I have a short cable with my Boye Needlemaster set which makes a 20 1/2″ circular, so I used that and it worked out great. The cable size was long enough that it wasn’t difficult to knit with, and short enough to work with the hat.

The yarn was from the 2 skeins I got from Lauren (thanks Lauren!) so I still have 1 1/3 skeins left to make a matching scarf. Now I just need to figure out what pattern to use for the scarf…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another FO

  1. Chris says:

    Pretty! Malabrigo is yummy – I have a skein of the laceweight, too…

  2. Anne says:

    I love those colors! It looks great. And just in time for all this cold weather too.

  3. Lani says:

    I really love it! The colors are beautiful(ly bright)! 🙂

Leave a Reply

