Decisions, Decisions

I’m planning for my Elizabeth Zimmermann EPS Cardigan, and I currently have a burgundy for the body of the sweater, plus black, white, and two grays. I can’t decide whether to use just the neutral tones with the main color, or to introduce another color. What do you think?

Neutrals Blue
Yellow Green

Edited to add:

OK, after spending a while browsing through the wall of Cascade 220 at my LYS, this is what I came back with. There weren’t any greens that worked at all. They didn’t have either of the two I saw on the color card that I thought might work.

Here are the original yarns, which I could just use alone. The burgundy is a bit more purple than it shows on my monitor, but this was as close as I could get.

Yarn selection 1

Here they are with the addition of a blue. There’s enough gray in the blue that I think it work, but maybe it’s a little blah.
Yarn selection with blue

And here are the yarns with a gold. I think it really livens it up, but then again, maybe too much.

Yarns with gold

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Decisions, Decisions

  1. Miriam says:

    Wow! I really like the green in there! It adds something really amazing without being REALLY green, you know?

  2. Chris says:

    Not the green!! Ick. I like the blue, or just the colors you have. Hee hee – your first two comments are so helpful, eh??

  3. Helen says:

    The blue will make the sweater look ‘cool’ and gold will make it look ‘warm’. That’s my quick ‘feeling’ just on your two photos of the yarns together. So go with a ‘warm’ color palette? or a ‘cool’ one? and having said that, I’m always partial to blue more than yellow.

  4. margene says:

    We’ll the only thing to do is swatch!

  5. Marsha says:

    I vote blue too!!

  6. Lani says:

    I would vote for the green or gold! For some reason any color red with any color blue makes me think of the Fourth of July. Strange I know.

  7. Lark says:

    Somehow, I see you more in the gold. But the blue works too. Are we a helpful lot?

  8. Yep, you will know which one is right when you swatch! I think they’re both good choices.

  9. Cayenne says:

    And I love yellow, so I vote the gold! It looks really nice with that burgundy. The blue would look good with your eyes, though. Tough choice.

Leave a Reply

