Impasse

EPS is at a standstill.

Following the instructions in “Knitting Around”, I kitted half the depth of the yoke, then decreased 25%, then started the colorwork pattern. (I’m using the Fair Isle pattern straight out of the book.)

Blech.

I tried on the sweater a few rows after the first decrease, and thought it was much too big around the yoke, but continued on, hoping that it would all work out. After another inch or so (about halfway through the first color pattern), the decrease amount doesn’t seem so bad, but there are other problems:

A) The chest area before the decrease is much too big. It looks to me as though I should have started the decreases much sooner – maybe at 25% of the total yoke depth instead of half.

B) The Fair Isle pattern is also starting much, much higher than it appears on the sweater in the book – it looks like it will be barely hit the top of my shoulders. Here’s a photo of the sweater as it appears in the book, but mine appears to be looking more like the top photo on this blog post.

I really don’t want the pattern starting so high. However, if I frog the yoke and start over, do I knit the first Fair Isle pattern (the X’s), and then do my first decrease? Arrrgh! And why is it that nobody else seems to have this problem? Have I messed up?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Impasse

  1. Carrie says:

    Wow, that sounds like a pain in the butt. I have no idea what to suggest, but you have my sympathy. I’m sending you good vibes!

  2. margene says:

    I don’t have the problem because I’m not nearly ready to start the yoke. Figure it out and let us know, okay? πŸ˜‰

  3. susan says:

    I wait and see what you decide. πŸ™‚

  4. Have I mentioned I’m glad you’re ahead of me?

  5. Laritza says:

    It is highly unlikely that you have THAT serious of a row gauge difference. My guess is that you skipped a section, either a color pattern repeat section or a plain color one. Sit with the pattern pencil and paper and compare “letter to letter”. Been there done that.

Leave a Reply

