Shifting Sands Scarf

I love Malabrigo.

shifting3

Pattern: Shifting Sands by Grumperina

Yarn: Malabrigo Merino Worsted, in “Velvet Grapes”, gift from Lauren. Only used about 86 grams of the skein.

Needles: US 9 (5.5 mm)

Size: I cast on 27 stitches (5 repeats). Finished size: Unblocked size was 4.5” x 45.5”. I didn’t measure it right after blocking, but after wearing it for a bit, it stretched out to 4″ x 50″. Just long enough to wear doubled and tucked into a jacket.

Notes: It was curling a lot before blocking. After blocking it laid quite flat, but after wearing it for a day, it was trying to curl a little big again – not so much as to be a problem, though.  If I made it again, I’d probably do another one or two pattern repeats (cast on 32 or 37), but this works fine, and allowed me to make three projects from 2 skeins of yarn. The stitch pattern is lovely and fairly simple if you can cable without a cable needle – for mine, there were 685 cable crossings. Oh, did I tell you I love Malabrigo?

 

shifting2

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shifting Sands Scarf

  1. Anne says:

    The colors are great. It looks warm and squishy. What’s not to love? 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    Oh, I bet it’s yummy to wear!

  3. Stacey says:

    Beautiful! Have you tried the lace weight yet? As soon as I can justify it to myself, I’m buying some.

  4. margene says:

    A Malabrigo scarf can only be heavenly. Nice!!

  5. Lauren says:

    It’s so pretty! It’s hard not to love Malabrigo when you try it 🙂

  6. Anne B. says:

    Oh boy, now I need to go visit some in a LYS. Its too pretty to resist, and the scarf looks lovely and warm. Did Imention its really cold again up here?
    Anne in Calgary

  7. Lani says:

    Beautiful! It looks so soft, squishy and warm!!

  8. Julie says:

    Beautiful! I love the Velvet Grapes colorway; as a matter of fact, I just knit a hat in it today!

Leave a Reply

