What’s on the Needles

Also known as WIP Wednesday Monday.

bella1

This first photo is the start of Bella Paquita. The piece at the top, which looks like it might actually be the finished top part, is actually a giant swatch. And I do mean giant. I couldn’t get the pattern gauge with the Rowan Calmer I’m using, so I calculated the circumference of the size I wanted (small), then determined how many stitches that would be in my gauge. It turned out to match the large pattern size. Or so I thought. It turns out that the knitted fabric is so stretchy, that it really needs to be knitted with more negative ease. Or I needed to treat my swatch as if it were ribbing, and stretch it lightly before measuring.

Anyway, looking at how much bigger the top was than what I needed, I decided to go down one needle size AND knit it in size medium. The small piece of knitting at the bottom of the photo is the result of that, knitted up to the armscyes. This seems to be a winner, so I’ll continue on with it.

In the center is some of the lace for the neckline, detail below. Isn’t it lovely?

bella2

But wait – there’s more. I finished the Chevron Neck Warmer, except for the buttons. I gave it a soak, and it’s blocking. Also blocking is yet one more swatch for Scoop du Jour. I’m having to go down to size 4 needles with the Classic Elite Skye Tweed to get gauge (at least, I hope this one works!). The yarn is so bumpy and sticky that it’s hard to knit tightly.
blocking

Last of all, we have some basic gloves – Drops 102-46. I cast on for these because I had finished up the neck warmer, and needed a small take-along project.

gloves

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s on the Needles

  1. Chris says:

    My goodness. I feel like I need a scorecard to keep track!

  2. margene says:

    You’re just busy, busy, busy getting ready for the next big thing!

  3. Anne B. says:

    The purple colour is gorgeous, its going to look fabulouso on you!
    Anne in Calgary

  4. Cayenne says:

    The lace neck edge is so pretty and I love the gloves pattern.

  5. elyoung says:

    I love to see what you’re knitting, always busy with the clicking needles. Love the lace detail at the neckline.

Leave a Reply

