Oh Betty!

In which Betty goes for a walk, and I reveal my pathetic and crude embroidery skills…

We won’t discuss how many times I redid the eyes, OK? This is as good as it gets.

 

Betty

Pattern: My own, but heavily based on the basic doll instructions in “Knitted Icons”.

Yarn: Filatura di Crosa Zara for the body, bits of stash yarn for the hair and jewelry.

Needles: US 2 (2.75 mm)

Modifications: Although I followed the general guidelines in the book for the doll body, I modified it to knit most of the pieces in the round, enlarged the head to be more “Betty-like”, and added some body shaping. For the hair, I used a loop crochet stitch. I just made up the clothing and accessories. I put pipe cleaners in the arms, legs, and body so that she’d be a little bit bendable.

Size: About 10″ tall.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Oh Betty!

  1. margene says:

    Very cute and your embroidery looks fine!!!

  2. Miriam says:

    She is so cute! Are you giving her to Bruce?

  3. Eileen says:

    Looks great! Love the shoes.

  4. Chris says:

    She’s fabulous! I agree – the embroidery looks good.

  5. Anne B. says:

    She is adorable, and the embroidery is perfect!

  6. Lark says:

    Wish I could be there to see when you give her to Bruce…Great job. Your embroidery is fine. One more day of blue skies (they predict more snow) O spring, where art thou?

  7. I can’t wait to see her tonight! She’s adorable.

  8. Carrie says:

    Oh, yeah, that’s one sweet betty. I think you did a great job on the eyes! And the red dress looks great =)

  9. Marsha says:

    How cute! Nice job!

  10. Erin says:

    She is very, very cute. I think you did a fab job.

  11. Jacquie says:

    She’s great. I love her little garter!

Leave a Reply

