A Better Yarn Post

I scored two new skeins of yarn for my stash yesterday:

Handpaintedyarn - Chrysanthemum

A pretty coral-pink (semi-solid) laceweight wool from Handpainted Yarns. This is not the merino laceweight though, so I’ll still need to keep my eyes out for some Malabrigo Lace Baby in a colorway I can’t do without.

Sleeping Dragon - Pool

And a skein of Sleeping Dragon Yarns Hand Painted merino fingering-weight yarn, in colorway “Pool” – a lovely blend of blues and greenish-blues. I’d like to make a scarf or small shawl from it, rather than socks. Have I mmmmentioned how much I love mmmmerino?

And on the WIP WPI front, I checked the wraps per inch on all of the skeins of Classic Elite Skye Tweed from yesterday’s debacle. Two of the 13 skeins I bought measure in at 9 WPI, while the rest are 10 WPI. One of the two “9”s is, of course, the one I swatched with. The other was in a sealed pack of 5 skeins, where the others were all 10’s. Gee, no wonder I was having swatch and gauge problems. The good news is that the 11 “good” skeins will be plenty for making the cardigan. It’s a good thing I decided to do this one, instead of using the yarn for the Central Park Hoodie. I would have been cutting it close with the yardage even using all 13 skeins.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Better Yarn Post

  1. margene says:

    LOVE the handpainted yarn (and Karen’s yarn, of course!).

  2. Chris says:

    Pretties!

    I’m glad you sorted out the gauge/wpi thing – how maddening.

  3. Anne B. says:

    Hmmmm Gauge problems! Good thing you sorted it all out. The Central Park Hoodie is a great pattern, good choice.
    Anne

  4. elyoung says:

    I love the yarn! What a fabulous score!

Leave a Reply

