An Oldie but a Goodie

For Norma.

1976 Microwave Oven

How many of you are younger than my mother’s microwave oven? If you were born after August 1976, raise your hand. That’s the manufacture date of this Norelco Rapid Range. Originally purchased for what was then a bargain price of $400. All metal interior, and still works like a champ. This wasn’t her first microwave oven – I don’t know what happened to that one. But she said there’s another one out back in the shed. I decided not to wade through half a foot of snow to find out.

Like Norma, I detest appliances with pushbuttons. Give me an old-fashioned dial any day. Except on my telephone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Oldie but a Goodie

  1. Chris says:

    Dang. Fortunately, I’m older than that appliance!

  2. margene says:

    I think I had that same model!

  3. Carrie says:

    Heh – my husband’s grandmother still has her original microwave – it’s huge! And it still works. Buy one today and see how long it lasts =) That I notice things like that means I’m getting older, I know. But it’s true!

  4. Norma says:

    WOW! You deserve honorable mention for this one!!! Awesome.

  5. I hate getting rid of things before they’re irreparably broken, but I believe you should check into how safe that thing actually is. At my sister’s workplace, the safety team made them replace a ten year old one because of emissions.

Leave a Reply

