Ode to Cioppino

I was unbelievably thrilled to see that my local Costco (18th South/3rd West) has FINALLY gotten the award-winning Orca Bay Cioppino back.

Cioppino (“che-PEE-no”) is an Italian seafood stew – a variety of seafood in a slightly spicy tomato broth. Good on its own, or you could serve it over pasta or rice. The Orca Bay Cioppino contains cod, scallops, mussels, shrimp, and clams. All natural, no preservatives.

I love Cioppino, but I’m often disappointed with it in restaurants. And I’ve tried a bunch of recipes, but none live up to my ideal. The best I ever had was at an Italian restaurant in Pismo Beach. But I’m telling you, this is a close second. And even if I had a great recipe for it, I don’t think I could make it for the same price – and even if I could, the labor savings alone is worth it. It’s only $8.99 for a 2-lb box. The packaging says that’s 3.7 servings. I always have it as a main course to serve two, with some crusty bread, a salad, and of course, some wine. (I like a light red with this, but white would certainly be quite fine.) But if you want to serve it as a first course, it could certainly serve 3 or 4.

On a diet? No problem – it’s low in calories, fat, and carbs.

You can be sure I’ll be packing my freezer with as many boxes as will fit, since I suspect it will only be around for a short time before it’s gone again for another year.

 

cioppino

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ode to Cioppino

  1. Chris says:

    It sounds fabulous!

  2. Stacey says:

    They don’t have that at my Costco!!!! Not fair. 😀

  3. Stacey says:

    Whooops.. but I did get some crap and shrimp ravioli that sounds promising.

  4. Stacey says:

    CRAB!!! CRAB! Not crap! Send more coffee.

  5. susan says:

    I saw that at Costco just the other day. I better buy some before you get it all.s

  6. Mmmmm, I will have to pick some up when I go to Costco later today.

  7. margene says:

    I saw it and meant to ask Smith if he’d enjoy it, too…and then promptly forgot. Boo…must go back!

Leave a Reply

