Oh Sally!

Sally Melville is in town this weekend, giving classes offered through my LYS, Black Sheep Wool Co.

Margene said that if I could get into one of her classes, I should definitely do it because they’re great. I took her advice and was lucky enough to get signed up for two classes – one yesterday, and one today. Heather took the same class with me yesterday, which made it extra nice. Margene was right – the class was fantastic, and worth every penny!

If I’d just looked at a list of the techniques that were going to be covered, I might have thought that I already knew most of them. But Sally gives you so much more information than just how to do some specific techniques, and you can even learn a lot more about the ones you “think” you know. For example, I knew how to do a cable cast-on, but not the purl version. Or when doing an e-wrap cast-on (and when you would want do do that), how to make the wrap go the proper direction. Her information on picking up stitches around the neck was practically worth the class just in itself. There was a lot of good stuff besides just the techniques, and questions from the people in class often led to some interesting things. I particularly liked Sally’s information on exercises and avoiding carpal tunnel problems. Plus you got to see so many of her beautiful knitted items in person – how fun!
Black Sheep Wool Co. did a great job of hosting the class and providing us with beverages and yummy snacks.

I’m really looking forward to this afternoon’s class!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oh Sally!

  1. That was a fantastic class, wasn’t it! I totally agree with you about picking up for the neckline!

  2. Chris says:

    I’m jealous now – I think I saw the list in the class description and thought I knew enough to be happy. Wish I’d have gone.

    Chris

  3. Chris says:

    Sounds like a great class! I’ve taken a couple classes from Anna Zilboorg and am always amazed at how much I learn.

  4. Stacey says:

    Sounds like it was a great day! I think the exercises would be worth it too. Have a wonderful afternoon class.

  5. oh, dang! I meant to remember she was coming, but I forgot. I’m glad you had such a good experience.

  6. Kim says:

    Sally Melville! I’m SO jealous!!

Leave a Reply

