WIPs and Woes

While I was knitting along on my Austermann sock at SnB Tuesday night, I thought that something didn’t look right about the color pattern. When I got home, I compared it to the finished sock.

Woe.

Austermann Socks

The color repeat of the blue-gray-ish color is not as long as it was for the first sock. It’s only about half as long. Which means, of course, that after all my careful planning, the sock stripes will not match. Poop. I am contemplating the idea of ripping out the green part and splicing in some extra yarn for a few rows, so that the green will start in the right spot – then hopefully it will match for the rest of the sock, or at least through the heel.

In other WIP news, Forest Canopy is moving along quickly. Did I mention that I’m doing the “Knitting With Nora” KAL?

Forest Canopy WIP

And then there’s my sadly neglected Lacy Gloves. I really want these to be done, but I’m not much in the mood for gloves right now – I want to think about Spring! But also, I’m to the thumb gusset and I have to think about whether to change it for the second glove. It was ridiculously oversized for the first one, and I’m trying to decide whether to adjust it before I finish the gusset, or just make the second one the same as the first.

Avery gloves

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to WIPs and Woes

  1. sil says:

    Well those socks sure spiked your punch! I think you would be happiest making those match up more, so splice away. They are adorable too!

  2. Miss T says:

    I’m the sort who likes funky, slightly mismatched socks, so I have no advice to offer!

  3. margene says:

    How weird! Did you cast on more stitches than the first sock? I’d just go with it…who cares (well, I don’t) if they match perfectly.
    Maybe your glove Mojo is in Brazil with my soock Mojo…let them play and enjoy your lace 😉

  4. Chris says:

    Is it my imagination, or is the cuff color longer in the 2nd sock than in the first?

  5. Nora says:

    Oh, your Forest Canopy is so beautiful! What yarn are you using?

    I like the socks anyway, like Margene, but these things bug some of us more than others.

  6. Andrea says:

    I too would probably just leave the socks the way they are and let them be the way they wanted to be. 🙂 But then again, I am a fairly lazy knitter, and probably also a poor example. hee hee I love the colors, either way.

  7. Fraternal twins are also much beloved.

    But there’s also that wicked cool heel flap to consider…

Leave a Reply

