Vintage Mohair

I scored a bit of vintage mohair yarn from my mom yesterday. I’m hoping to use it for something a bit special, either for myself or my mom. Any thoughts?

There is about 3 1/2 skeins (around 240 yards) of a mohair/wool blend yarn in a creamy-beige color that just says “Super Brushed”. Is that the brand? Who knows. Each skein is 40 grams and 75 yards. As for the weight, I dunno. How do you measure WPI for fuzzy mohair? I’m gonna guess and say worsted-to-aran, since it seems to be about 8-9 WPI.
Super Brushed mohair yarn

Then there’s about 1 1/3 skeins of 100% Italian mohair – by Sears Roebuck, no less! The full skein is 40 grams, but there’s no yardage listed. Looks to be the same weight as the other yarn, though, so I’d guess I have about 100 yards of it. Also in the photo is the cool antique sake set I also “pre-inherited”. It is carefully arranged for modesty, since it’s, um, a bit naughty. Beautiful artwork, though.

Mohair and Sake

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vintage Mohair

  1. Nora says:

    I don’t have any bright ideas, but I sure love the labels on the vintage yarn! Do you know when she bought them?

  2. Chris says:

    Mohair – eep! Me’n’mohair – not friends. Cook sake set! Hee hee.

  3. Stacey says:

    Wisp from Knitty?

    Awwwww… do show the naughty sake set. 😀

  4. susan says:

    I have a book that gives yardage and weight for vintage yarns. I’ll look up your yarn tonight.

  5. Miss T says:

    Oooh, fun. Love the sake set, too!

  6. Celeritas says:

    Have you swatched the Sears Mohair, what did it end up like? I have just bought two balls in cream and was wondering what you ended up doing with yours.

Leave a Reply

