The Death of Barney

Don’t worry, no actual dinosaurs were harmed in the making of this post.

When my husband moved into this house 10 years ago, one of the kitchen cabinets was lined with Barney day-of-the-week placemats, which had been attached to the shelves with double-sided tape. Actually, it wasn’t such a bad idea, since they were washable and soft, providing a cushion. And four of them exactly fit one shelf. (I didn’t pay attention, but since there were 8 placemats, there must have been a duplicate day.)

Barney placemats

But yesterday I’d finally had it with seeing Barney every time I got something out of the cabinet. Plus I wanted to get rid of the things in the cabinet that I don’t use anyway. So armed with a scraper, cleaning supplies, and a new roll of shelf paper, I embarked upon my mission. Now I have new shelf paper, and a de-junked cabinet. Ahhhhhhh.

New Shelf Paper

Then we celebrated Barney’s demise with margaritas and chips on the back deck.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Death of Barney

  1. sil says:

    I now have the Barney song in my head.

  2. Lauren says:

    That’s too funny! It would drive me nuts too.

  3. Carole says:

    I like the way you guys celebrate.

  4. debbie says:

    Clean up! Clean up! Everybody everywhere! Clean up! Clean up! Everybody do your share! [cue Psycho shower scene music]

  5. Anne B. says:

    Ah, death to Barney! That is good stuff, he’s always driven me crazy.

  6. margene says:

    Oooo, space for yarn!

  7. Chris says:

    Barney Be Gone party – love it!

Leave a Reply

