Eye Candy Friday

Finally! Some iris blooming in my yard that isn’t dark purple! (Not that I don’t like the dark purple ones, but a little variety is nice.) I attempted to arrange an iris swap at my office a couple of years ago. I needed to thin mine out, and thought it would be nice to trade for some other colors. Why in the heck do iris cost so much to buy in the nursery when they’ll grow damn near anywhere? Anyway, I only got a few takers, and none of them bloomed last year. But this year I have some light purple, white, and yellow. Only a few, but it’s a start.

Yellow Iris

At the moment, most of my front yard happens to be purple, silver, and white. A few other colors are starting to bloom, but this is pretty much it right now, other than those few yellow iris and some bright pink dianthus. This is, by the way, the entire depth of my tiny front yard. The snow-in-summer at the foreground is right at the sidewalk. Width-wise, you’re seeing about a quarter of the yard. Like I said, tiny.

Front yard

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eye Candy Friday

  1. There is plenty of room for hollyhocks! Just sprinkle a few in here and there!

  2. norma says:

    Oh, what I wouldn’t give, some days (esp. when I have to tackle the horsetail) for a TINY yard!

    Pretty!

  3. Lani says:

    Lovely, lovely colors!! I bet they all smell wonderful too!

  4. Cayenne says:

    Beautiful Iris! I love snow-in-summer too. You’ve inspired me to get some for my tiny front yard.

  5. Chris says:

    Wow. Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

