Yes, I’m Spoiled

 

Birthday Goodies

My birthday month is finally over, and with it goes the last of my birthday celebrations.

Lookie what I got with a lovely gift certificate to Black Sheep Wool Co., a gift certificate from Scout’s Swag, and a little bit of birthday cash?

That’s some Jo Sharp Silkroad DK Tweed in “Charcoal” to make some as-yet-undecided-upon cardigan, a skein of Noro Kureyon to make a little camera case,  a couple of skeins of Panda Silk for some lacy socks (probably “Waving Lace”, and some Garnet red Zephyr for a shawl.

And next to it? A Namaste Jetsetter bag. I’d have preferred Raspberry instead of the Dusty Pink, but Scout was sold out of that color. But this is nice, too.

And as if five WIPs isn’t enough, I cast on last night for the Drop-Stitch Lace Tank, using some Classic Elite Premiere that I had in my stash. I bought the yarn for something else and decided it wouldn’t work, so I’ve been looking for something else to do with it. I only have 540 yards of it, and it’s now discontinued. It’s a bit thinner than the specified yarn (Cascade Pima Tencel), but since it’s a lacy top, I think I can get away with it. I’m going to knit up a few inches of the front and see how it looks. My biggest issue is whether I’ll have enough yarn to finish it. Several people said they had “exactly” enough of the Cascade, and those skeins are 1 yard longer than the Premiere. Well, we’ll see.

My other option is the Aleita Shell. I’m sure there’s enough yarn for it, but the Premiere is supposedly a bit fragile and pilly, and I’d most likely be wanting to wear the shell under cardigans or blazers, so I’m not sure that would be a good use.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yes, I’m Spoiled

  1. Nice swag! Did I give you any soap? I always seem to be forgetting your soap—

  2. margene says:

    You had quite the birthday month! We should all be so lucky. You deserve to be spoiled!

  3. Lani says:

    Lovely haul! I especially love your new bag! 🙂

  4. Chris says:

    Ah, a new bag – always fun! Love the Jo Sharp – it makes such cushy garments.

Leave a Reply

