The Goodie Box

Hee hee… look what I got in the mail today…

A Priority Mail box completely stuffed with yarn.

Drops goodie box

I don’t know how I managed it, but I happened to buy just enough yarn to exactly fill the box. So what all was in it? An assortment of Garnstudio (Drops) yarn. I was very pleased with the Muskat I used for my last cardigan, and there are so many Drops patterns I like, that I thought it would be a good idea to buy a bunch of different yarns to play with. I’m planning to swatch them up with different needle sizes, wash them, fondle them, and use them as reference for future projects. I didn’t exactly buy one of every single yarn variety they make, but I came pretty close. I already had some of two other types, and the rest were ones I probably wouldn’t use.

I can’t say enough about NordicMart – I placed my order Sunday evening, the package was shipped Monday, and I got it today. The prices are great, and the shipping is very reasonable – just a flat rate of $5.95 in the continental U.S.

I’ve heard that they’re even willing to help you out if you have problems or questions with the Drops patterns.

So what was in the box? All this and more (I bought multiple skeins of a couple of varieties – the duplicates aren’t in the photo):

Drops yarn Here’s the yarn in no particular order. By the way, Ravelry lists quite a few of the Garnstudio/Drops yarns as being heavier than they are for some reason.

1: Cotton Viscose in a very rich dark copper color. It’s very shiny and has a lot of drape. I totally adore the color, though I’m not sure how I’d feel about an entire garment made of it, unless it was sort of a special-occasion kind of thing. Ravelry says DK, but Garnstudio says fingering.

2. Lin – 100% linen, in a pretty silver-gray color. Ravelry lists this as worsted, but Garnstudio says DK.

3. Alaska – 100% wool, in charcoal gray. Ravelry calls it aran, Garnstudio calls it worsted.

4. Alpaca – 100% alpaca, in a honey-brown. Ravelry calls it sport, Garnstudio calls it fingering.

5. Bomull-Lin – cotton/linen in a taupe-brown. Worsted.

6. Eskimo – 100% wool in dark brown. Ravelry calls it super-bulky, Garnstudio calls it bulky.

7. Ice – 55% cotton, 45% acrylic in a sea green. Bulky.

8. Karisma – 100% superwash wool in a medium gray. DK.

9. Merino Extra Fine – 100% superwash merino wool in a dark red. DK.

10. Safran – 100% cotton in a pale green. Ravelry says sport, Garnstudio says fingering.

11. Silke Alpaca – 20% silk and 80% baby alpaca in a rusty orange color. Ravelry says aran, Garnstudio says worsted.

12. And of course, we’ll always have “Paris”. 100% cotton. Bright red. Ravelry says aran, Garnstudio says worsted.

And since I’m sure you’re all interested in knowing what the drink of the day is – it’s iced tea (Kirkland Signature Japanese Green Tea), garnished with spearmint. Yes, really.*

* I will neither confirm nor deny rumors that I was seen purchasing some cachaça today for making caipirinhas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Goodie Box

  1. Amy says:

    Whoa, great haul!

  2. Miriam says:

    Mojitos are the only thing getting me through this week. So if you’re a lush, you’re in good company.

    But it’s home-brewed iced tea for me at work…. although it’s very tempting to spike it….

  3. Julie says:

    Look at all that great yarn; I’m a little jealous.

    Yummy, the iced tea looks very refreshing.

  4. margene says:

    I’ve wondered about that tea. It looks good!
    Tha yarns look good too. Any one stand out?

  5. Chris says:

    Oh, have fun swatching!

  6. debbie says:

    Cachaça?!?!?!?! Caipirinhas!!!!!?!?!?!?! Menina, quando você me invidará?

  7. Miss T says:

    Oooh, fabulous yarn! And caipirinhas… :o)

  8. Cayenne says:

    How fun to try all those different yarns!

  9. Tilda says:

    I don’t think DROPS ICE is 100% cotton but Drops yarns from Nordicmart.com is the best tho 🙂

Leave a Reply

