Saturday Coffee

I know you’re probably expecting me to post some coffee recipe. And I must admit that I do enjoy a nice Irish Coffee or Keoke coffee from time to time. But today I’m talking Starbucks.

You’ve probably read about Starbuck’s woes, and that they’re closing 600 stores nationwide.

Personally, this causes me no grief. I am not a Starbuck’s fan. Don’t get me wrong, I love coffee. And espresso. Just not Starbucks. Sure, I go there occasionally when it’s the only place around, but I’d much rather go to a local place. Not only because it’s LOCAL, but because I really don’t like Starbucks coffee anyway. I’m one of those who finds it too bitter and burnt tasting. I’m sure there are plenty of you who disagree, and I’ve got no problem with that. We all like what we like, and how boring would life be if we all liked the same things?

Anyway, all of the Starbucks news did provide me with a bit of humor. Like this cartoon.

And there’s always the fabulous Jackie Mason routine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Saturday Coffee

  1. Cayenne says:

    I love the Starbuck’s stuff in YOU’VE GOT MAIL. Tom Hanks talks about when you have no idea who you are, for only $2.99 (it’s more expensive now I’m sure) you can gain an identity from your Starbuck’s order. “Tall, decaf, cappuccino!” Very funny.

  2. Monica says:

    I think they make their flavored lattes too sweet (mochas too chocolaty, etc.) , and the coffee/espresso doesn’t have a strong enough flavor. But I love Cafe Expresso! Three cheers for LOCAL!

  3. Julie says:

    That Jackie Mason bit was hysterical!

  4. Chris says:

    I’m with you – I like supporting local places, or at the very least a locally based chain like Caribou. When I was in Denver last summer, there was literally a Starbucks on every corner – 2-3 Starbucks in 2-3 blocks. It was beyond stupid and really no surprise that they’re closing about 20% of their stores.

  5. margene says:

    Most of the Starbucks closing in Utah are where the Mo’s live and I completely agree with Monica. I love Java Joes!

  6. Norma says:

    Oh, I like the Starbucks! We have some local places, but their coffee is never strong enough for me. Makes me sad.

  7. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    I like starbucks, personally. That said, I’ve never understood why they have them across the street from each other. Seriously, you can’t cross the street? In dowtown Minneapolis, where I travel once a year for business, there are three – THREE – on three different sides of the same block. Huh?

  8. Anne B. says:

    Hmmmm, coffee. A Jitterbug latte please.

  9. Miss T says:

    They opened *way* too many stores. Great cartoon!

  10. LisaK says:

    Their green tea is pretty good except you have to wait two hours for it to cool enough to drink it. They can make Tazo China Green Tips almost as good as I can 😉

  11. Carrie says:

    That was just hilarious. Thanks for the really good laugh! =)

  12. Pingback: Bookmarks about Espresso

Leave a Reply

