It’s Not Easy Being Green

I had a bunch of avocados that all turned ripe at the same time. Turning to the Internet for help in deciding what I could make with them, I came across a few dessert recipes.

Dessert? Avocados? Yep!

This recipe for Avocado Dessert was about as easy as it gets, so I gave it a try. I didn’t add the vanilla, though, because some of the reviewers didn’t like it, and it seemed fine without it.

The consistency was pretty much like a cold soup. And the taste? Not bad at all! DH gobbled it right down, and then finished mine (not because I didn’t like it, but because I was full). He loved it. Although I thought it was tasty, I didn’t think the sugar dissolved enough, and it was slightly grainy. That could perhaps be resolved by using superfine sugar or maybe even honey. I also thought there was a slight avocado-y aftertaste that was a bit odd.

But if you find yourself with an abundance of ripe avocados, you might want to give it a try. Or maybe this Avocado Pie, instead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s Not Easy Being Green

  1. Amy says:

    I lurve avocadoes. In dessert–that’s one I hadn’t heard of.

  2. Stacey says:

    This sounds yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe. But, where’s the booze? 😀

    /runs

  3. margene says:

    Hmmmm, doesn’t sound like a resounding recommendation.

  4. Carrie K says:

    I think I’ll just stick with guacamole but those are very – creative.

  5. Julie says:

    I love avocadoes but I don’t think I cold go the dessert route with them. There must be a drink you could make with them!

  6. Norma says:

    That doesn’t surprise me at all! Avocadoes don’t have much flavor (at least the ones I’ve had) — they’re like a blank canvas to which any flavors could be added, and they are creamy and “buttery,” so I’d think I might like them as dessert better than anything else, actually.

  7. Miss T says:

    The Brazilians make avocado desserts…I’ll have to look one up and see how similar it is to this recipe. Very intriguing!

  8. Pingback: Recent URLs tagged Avocados - Urlrecorder

Leave a Reply

