On Knitting and Not

Wherein we reveal part two of “It’s Not Easy Being Green”.

First, we’ll start with the knitting.

Summer Leaves

I was looking for a project that would be quick, summery, and would use up some stash yarn. I decided that “Summer Leaves” (or on Ravelry) by Robin Dodge would fit the bill. The gauge seemed perfect to use up some Cotton-Ease. And I happened to have Almond, Maize (gold), and Green. My first thought was to make the main color Almond as in the original pattern, but I don’t have enough. So instead, I’m going to use Maize as the main color, and Almond as the contrasting color.

I have some slight concern about how I’ll like the square neckline, but we’ll see. I also plan to make the shoulders a bit narrower.

And now back to the green.

After dinner last night, my husband said “Too bad there isn’t any more of that avocado dessert!”. Yes, he liked it. He really liked it. I may have to make the pie some time and foist it upon my SnB group.

I briefly considered whipping up some more, since I still had some avocado left. But then Julie threw down a challenge with her comment: “There must be a drink you can make with them!”. (By the way, have you seen Julie’s cute crocheted hat and scarf pattern? I came across them on Ravelry the other day when looking for crocheted scarves, and thought they were great – then I noticed that it was Julie’s pattern! But I digress.)

Once again, the old Internet pulled through. Sure enough, Avocado Daiquiris. The first recipe I tried was nasty. Definitely needed some sugar. Or something. But I also found this recipe, which allowed me to just add some additional ingredients to the first drink to make a different version that served two. And what did we think? Pretty darn good. If it wasn’t for the color, I would have thought it was a Banana-Lime daiquiri. I couldn’t taste the avocado at all. You might be able to convince someone it’s a Banana-Lime-Kiwi daiquiri, and they’d probably never know the difference. The avocado and half-and-half added a slightly creamy texture, like a banana would. (Note: this photo is actually the nasty original drink. The second drink didn’t last long enough to have it’s picture taken.)

Avocado Daiquiri

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On Knitting and Not

  1. Anne says:

    Ooooo! That’ll be very cute. Will you be wearing it with the leaves in front or back?

  2. margene says:

    Just can’t imagine it…the drink that is.
    The top will look great on you!

  3. Miss T says:

    Okay, I have to try this. And that means I have to finally get around to buying a replacement part for my blender.

  4. Lauren says:

    Okay that’s it, I have to try it. I love avocados and I trust you if you say it’s good! Too bad I didn’t get any while I was at the store today.

  5. Stacey says:

    Yeah! Drinks all around! šŸ˜€ *ahem*

    I may have had a few too many lemon merangue martinis last night. šŸ˜€

  6. Julie says:

    I think I’m going to have to go shopping so I can make that drink. Sounds good!

    Thanks for the nice comment about my hat and scarf šŸ™‚ I clicked the link and realized that when I mess around with my blog settings, I probably ought to check out all the pages – what’s with the gigantic font?!

  7. Carrie K says:

    The top is cute, if the leaves were less prominent.

    I think that while sounding somewhat edible if not delicious, I’ll stick with strawberry dacquiris and strawberry shortcake. But I’ve got to try that avocado dish your husband liked so much.

  8. Chris says:

    That Julie, pushing the envelope and the liquor. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

