Blazing Needles

Today was the opening of “Blazing Needles”, a new yarn shop in Salt Lake City, at 1365 S.  1100 E. It’s on the northeast corner of 1100 E. and Harrison – two blocks south of Liberty Heights Fresh market. You can enter the shop from either 1100 East or Harrison.
The store is very nice, with lots of yarns that aren’t sold at the other LYS, and there’s still a lot more on order.  I’m definitely looking forward to the Handmaiden. A lot of the yarns are hung on pegs on the walls, which I like because it makes it easier to see the yarns and colorways.

There’s a room with a table and chairs for knitting (with a fireplace), that looks out onto a lovely little garden/patio, and “knit night” will be Thursdays, starting tomorrow night.  There’s even a felting room with a washer and dryer.

Yarns currently in stock include Aslan Trends, Debbie Bliss, O-Wool, Tilli Tomas, Chameleon Colorworks, Schaefer, Noro, Artyarns, Manos, Blue Heron, ShiBui, and Cascade – including Ecological Wool and Eco +. I may be missing a few, but that should give you an idea.

Other items include needles/notions and Namaste bags.

Oh, and they’re open on Sundays.  Noon to 5.

Go forth and enjoy. (Yes, they’re open tomorrow, so those with the day off for Pioneer Day can take advantage of it.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blazing Needles

  1. margene says:

    Sounds great. I’ll drop by tomorrow, fer sure.

  2. Carrie K says:

    They’re a little far away but good luck to them! It sounds like a nice shop.

  3. Miriam says:

    I went during my lunch with my fellow knitter/worker bee Steven. It was GREAT and I spent WAY more than I really needed to 😀

    And Cynthia recognized me on site, which just blew me away.

    M

  4. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Ooohhh, sounds like fun – Enjoy!

  5. Stacey says:

    Happy Pioneer Days? So you don’t have a wide variety of booze available… but you get an extra day off?

  6. Laritza says:

    Thanks for the heads up! I will go looking for the Handmaiden for sure. At last I will be able to see it in person 😀

  7. Anne says:

    Uh oh. I will NOT go into that store on Sunday. I CANNOT purchase yarn right now, since it all has to move. Even if I have a birthday on Sunday and really SHOULD treat myself to a little something nice. MUST RESIST.

Leave a Reply

