Mindless Blather

I saw the Yellow Guy again yesterday. On 45th South near Highland Drive. All in yellow again, except for his shorts, which were white. All of his yellow ones must be in the wash. But he was still pumping his hand weights as he walked. It was hard to resist the temptation to swerve to the side of the road and stop to take a photo with my camera phone. But since I was driving my mother home after some errands, I was able to control myself.  Maybe one of these days I’ll get lucky enough to get a pic.

I had one of THOSE nights last night while knitting the Summer Leaves top. I had one back piece and the front piece finished, so I thought I’d sew them together so I could make sure the fit seemed right before I started the other back piece. I started with the shoulder seams, but they looked really strange. I thought maybe I’d messed up the shoulder shaping (there wasn’t any in the pattern – I just made some up). It LOOKED like I did them right, but they didn’t seem to work when I put them together. I decided to give up on that and deal with it in the morning. I’d already pinned it together earlier, so I knew the fit was probably OK, so I decided to just cast on for the right back. After 5 or 6 rows, I realized that although I had been doing the moss stitch with the contrast color, I hadn’t been doing the moss stitch for the main color to make the hem. CRAPOLA. Well, OK, let’s just rip that out. Good thing it was only a few rows. But by then it was getting kind of late and I didn’t want to start it again. I figured I could at least sew the side seam, and then just figure out the shoulders later. A short while later I was smugly congratulating myself on a lovely seaming job. Until I held it up, and realized I was holding a tube that was not much bigger than a sleeve. Yep, I’d seamed both sides of the front piece together instead of seaming the front to the back. DOUBLE CRAPOLA. I was pretty tired and ready for bed, but I wasn’t going to finish on a failure. So I ripped out the seam and sewed pieces together correctly. Whew! Now at least I could sleep.

As for the shoulders? I decided that I didn’t shape them incorrectly, they just had too much of a slope. I just ripped back part of the shaping and bound off again. They’re much better now.

I stopped at the wine store yesterday, but sadly, there was no more 2006 Honig Sauvignon Blanc, only 2007. I bought some anyway – hopefully it will be as good.  Maybe I’ll make some shrimp or fish tacos tomorrow night and let you know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mindless Blather

  1. margene says:

    OMG I see the Yellow Guy all the time! He has white hair (a wig I think) and is very old…right? I’ve seen him in The Store, too!

  2. Chris says:

    Wow – usually when I try a redo right before bed, nothing good can come of it!

  3. Evil Stacey says:

    Must not sew while tired! The yellow guy sounds like he’d be fun to talk to. And I thought all the ummm… “interesting” people lived here 😀

  4. Cayenne says:

    I love your blog. It’s nice to know I’m not the only knitting perfectionist who has to get something right before going to bed.

  5. Carole says:

    I hate it when seaming goes wrong. Fish tacos? I’ll be there!

  6. Miss T says:

    Your seaming story reminds me of a ridiculous pair of pants I accidentally made years ago. :o)

  7. Carrie K says:

    I can’t sleep without frogging the offending knitting but I try not to fix it then – because it never fixes. When did you finally get to bed? 4am?

Leave a Reply

