Fish Tacos

In my opinion, the best fish tacos in Salt Lake City are at Lone Star Taqueria. Sunset Magazine agreed a few years ago, naming them the best tacos in the West. Their other food is very good, too. I used to live a few blocks away from them and went often, but unfortunately I hardly ever get over there now.

The fish is not breaded and fried, but instead is broiled. I personally prefer that, but that’s not why I love the tacos – it’s the seasonings and the delicious cilantro-jalapeño sauce.

Fortunately, Sunset Magazine printed the recipe, and you can find it here.

Grab some corn tortillas and top them with the cooked fish, cilantro-jalapeño mayonnaise, some shredded cabbage (essential!), and some pico de gallo. Squeeze a bit of fresh lime juice over the top, and you’ll be in heaven. I cooked the fish on the grill. Yum.

 

FishTacos

 

I was going to have beer with it, but instead decided to give the 2007 Honig Sauvignon Blanc a try. It was certainly drinkable, but we both agreed that we preferred the 2006. The 2007 is a lot fruitier (grapefruit, I thought), and not quite as smooth and light as the 2006.

Carole, we waited for you, but you didn’t show up so we had to eat your tacos. Sorry about that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fish Tacos

  1. margene says:

    Haven’t had the fish tacos from Lone Star but that’s almost exactly how I make them at home. If you’d have called me I’d have taken Carole’s taco off your hands. 😉

  2. Chris says:

    Those sound tasty!

  3. Evil Stacey says:

    I love fish tacos. But I’m with you, I don’t like the fish fried. I want to go to Baja and have some with fresh fish. MMMMM and some fresh ceviche.

  4. Carole says:

    You’re killing me here.

  5. Lauren says:

    That sounds really good! I also prefer the broiled fish.

  6. Julie says:

    I love fish tacos and those look delicious!

  7. Cayenne says:

    Looks wonderful. I can almost smell them from here.

  8. Miss T says:

    Ohhhhh I absolutely adore fish tacos! Thanks for linking that recipe.

Leave a Reply

