To Leaf or Not

I’ve finished (?) the Summer Leaves top, but am undecided about whether or not it should have foliage.

Since my photographer is unavailable, you’ll have to make do with having Brown Betty as my stand-in.

The “font” side (it’s actually reversible, but this is how I’d probably wear it):

Summer Leaves - Front

The back without leaves:

Summer Leaves - Back, without leaves

And with leaves (just tacked in place):

Summer Leaves - Back, with leaves

I like the idea of the leaves, but in real life, I’m thinking it might be a little too artsy for me. Or maybe if I keep the leaves, I should embroider a little vine connecting them, so they’re more obviously leaves and not just blobs. (They do look more leaf-like in person than they do in the photo.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to To Leaf or Not

  1. margene says:

    I vote for the leaves with vine embroidery. It makes it a piece of wearable art and far more interesting than just a plain knit top.

  2. Evil Stacey says:

    I vote for the leaves with a vine too. Although I also vote for whatever you are most comfortable with.

  3. Chris says:

    Can you connect the leaves with some i-cord from the same yarn, then attach them if you’re in the mood for wearing leaves?

  4. Carrie K says:

    Leaves with vine embroidery otherwise, I’d leave them off.

  5. Lani says:

    I vote no leaves! It’s more versatile (imho) without. (Beautiful top too!! Love the colors!)

  6. Miss T says:

    I think the leaves (with vine) would work better if the top was in one color rather than two. So I’d probably vote for the leafless version.

  7. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    What a cute top! Need that pattern… at any rate, I am also a ‘needs a vine’ commenter. I like the leaves but they are too random on the back without a connection.

  8. Cayenne says:

    What a pretty top. You choose such wonderful knits.

Leave a Reply

