Rye, Oh My

We interrupt this knitting (?) blog for a public service announcement.

After learning that Utah has an actual distillery producing rye and vodka, I felt it was totally necessary for me to check out the local goods.

A quick trip to the local liquor store this morning (much closer than the distillery/warehouse), and I returned home with this.

Rendezvous Rye
High West Rendezvous Rye. Great bottle, yes?

I eagerly awaited cocktail hour, when I finally presented myself with a glass of rye on the rocks. The verdict? Oh, yeah. This is definitely rockin’ rye. I must admit that I’ve never had rye before, though I do like a good whiskey. But this? Wow. I’m a convert. Makes me wonder why rye has practically disappeared in this country. Pour me another!

Rendezvous Rye on the rocks

The only concern I have is that this new rye isn’t really distilled here – it’s a blend of two different ryes that were distilled and aged in Kentucky, while the High West distillery ages its own. So what does that mean for the future? I imagine the distilled-in-Utah product will have to be somewhat different from the current product. Will it be for better or worse? Who knows. This may be a grab-it-while-you-can opportunity. So much so, that I went back and bought a couple more bottles for my stash. Not the fibery stash, the liquid one. Gotta hoard this stuff for the future.

But one thing’s for sure. I likes me some rye. Go ahead and drink your bourbon if you want to. As for me? I’ll take a Manhattan. Made the way it should be. With rye.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rye, Oh My

  1. Chris says:

    It worries me that you have a liquor stash. 😉 Do you have it on Ravelry yet?

  2. Carrie K says:

    I thought that was your new project. It sure looks like the one pictured on Ravelry….

  3. Evil Stacey says:

    I think it’s perfectly normal to have a liquor stash. I don’t know if I would post it on my blog, but I have one.

  4. Anne says:

    It’s only prudent to stash booze here in the great state of Utah. I mean…. the liquor store isn’t open on certain days, opens kinda late, closes kinda early. It’s just smart.

  5. Lani says:

    Hmmmm… liquor…. 😉

  6. Carole says:

    My nana used to drink rye – lots of memories there!

  7. margene says:

    Oh yes, in Utah we do have liquor stashes…gotta get me some rye, too!!

  8. Evil Stacey says:

    Don’t certain ummm groups in Utah advise having a year’s worth of supplies on hand? Isn’t that what you’re doing?

    Right?

  9. Nora says:

    I’m muttering something about the whole country going to hell when the Utes start stashing liquor… but I’m really JUST KIDDING!!! xo

  10. Miss T says:

    Well, they do know what they’re doing in Kentucky. If you ever find yourself there, make sure you drive the Bourbon Trail and tour at least one of the distilleries.

Leave a Reply

