Summer Leaves with vines

I decided to go ahead and embroider a vine to connect the leaves, after Margene refreshed my memory on how to embroider a stem-stitch. I like it much better this way. She also agreed to take photos of my butt… uh, I mean the finished top. Geez, and look at those arms. I really need to get going on those push ups. And work on those triceps, too. Blech.

Summer Leaves

Oh yeah, and here’s the front:

Summer Leaves

Pattern: Summer Leaves, from Robin Dodge of One Sheep Hill (and on Ravelry). BTW, I snagged this when it was a free pattern, but it’s no longer free.

Yarn: Lion Brand Cotton-Ease, in Maize and Almond, plus Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece in Olive for the leaves and vine.

Needles: US 7 / 4.5 mm

Size:  The back is size S, and the front is size XS, since it was a little too big and it was easier to just reknit the front than reknit the entire thing. The finished top has about 2″ of negative ease.

The yarn wasn’t really a good choice for this because of the acrylic content – the shoulder straps rolled like crazy. So I modified them to have a double seed stitch border at the arm edge. I’m not totally happy with how that worked out in the front, but it’s better than with them rolling.

I had no problems with the pattern – it was well written and easy to follow. It’s also a pretty fast and easy knit, as long as you don’t make all of the stupid mistakes I did, and end up reknitting over and over.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Summer Leaves with vines

  1. Evil Stacey says:

    Wow! That came out beautiful! Great job! Your arms look great… don’t be so hard on them.

    Happy Wednesday!

  2. margene says:

    You and the top look fabulous. Nice work on the embroidery!!
    Be nice to my friend, she’s fabulous;-)

  3. Chris says:

    The embroidery turned out great – it’s a lovely top. Keep up the pushups – you will be surprised at how quickly they help your triceps. 🙂

  4. Cookie says:

    Nice butt!

    What? You started it. ;^)

    Well done! It’s lovely and I really like how the leaves turned out.

  5. Anne says:

    I think it’s very cute! I like the embroidery and leaves on the back very much.

  6. Julie says:

    What a cute top! It looks great on you.

  7. Cayenne says:

    It is beautiful. I especially love the colors. If you ever get rid of it let me know! =) Funny how we are our own worst critic. I think your arms look amazing–WAY better than mine, for sure.

  8. Anne B. says:

    The top turned out wonderfully, and the embroidery adds the icing on the cake. Enjoy wearing it!

  9. Monica says:

    That turned out so pretty! The embroidery makes the leaves look amazing. And you look amazing, so stop dissing! 🙂

  10. Nora says:

    Wonderful top – the leaves are such a neat touch. And your arms, like your butt, rock.

  11. Lauren says:

    I think it looks great! I’m glad you decided to do the embroidery and add the vines.

  12. Lani says:

    Beautiful!! Great job!! 😀

    PS – You don’t need no stinkin pushups!!

  13. Carrie K says:

    The embroidery really does set off the leaves and you so can too wear a crop top. Fraidy cat.

  14. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Fan-slam-tastic! The embroidery did amazing things for the leaves up the back. And I’m with the rest of the gang – you are in great shape and look terrific! (I think I was nine years old the last time I saw an XS on my clothing!!)

Leave a Reply

