Blackberry

When you hear the word “blackberry”, do you think of one of those electronic gizmos, or these beauties:

blackberries

Mmmmmm. Fresh from the garden. It’s probably a good thing that I only get a cup or two at a time – it keeps me from making some high-calorie dessert with them. Instead, I just eat them fresh. OK, sometimes over ice cream.

Also being harvested in the garden right now are green beans:

green beans

There was a lot more. But I et ’em.

BTW, for those of you concerned about my “liquor stash”… Here in Utah, we call that “food storage“. My wine is kept in the “fruit room“, (hey – it’s made from fruit!), which is also where I’ve stashed my extra bottles of Rendezvous Rye for the future (rye is a grain – leave me alone). By the way, there’s even a food storage calculator online. But for some reason, they seem to have left off the calculations for booze. Must have been an oversight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blackberry

  1. margene says:

    I bought blackberries and vanilla ice cream last night!! That rye (thank you, thank you for your gift) is AMAZING! Booze storage is a must!!!

  2. Miss T says:

    Blackberries. Beans. Sigh. Looks sooooo good!

  3. Yuuum. Those berries would last about two seconds at my house. Gee, I seem to have forgotten booze in my food storage!! 🙂

  4. Stacey says:

    HAHAHAHAH! *ahem* I love the rationalization. I’ll have to remember that if anyone ever opens that cabinet and falls over from shock. 😀
    The blackberries look absolutely delish! I grew up with wild blackberries and raspberries and used to come home stained and scratched every day. My grandfather would make wine with them and my mom would make jam. I’d get paid a quarter a bucket. I think I may have eaten more than they got.

  5. In California we called it “cellaring”. You can get special racks and everything, and most homes in Utah contain rooms easily adaptable to the practice! Our house already had a special wine storage room, all we had to do was buy some IKEA wine racks. I don’t know why the previous owner had all those deep shelves, they don’t work at all for wine and liquor.

  6. Anne B. says:

    I’d like to think that in case of the end of the world, a good bottle of rye would be the most important thing in your food storage locker. Up your chances of survivial for sure!!

  7. Chris says:

    Yum – those blackberries look AMAZING. And the green beans – mmmm…

  8. Lani says:

    YUM! You should so make some blackberry muffins or scones!! (And send some this way!) 😉 You know, muffins and scones go well a la mode.

  9. Carrie K says:

    Alcohol. like sock yarn, doesn’t count.

    Yum, blackberries. I still think of the fruit first but I’m sure that’s going to change.

Leave a Reply

