Knitting in my Sleep

I’m sure sometimes we all feel like we knit in our sleep. Or at least that we could.

Yesterday I had the joy of having a colonoscopy. (Just a screening – it’s a joy being 50.)

Of course, I took some knitting with me for the waiting room. Since the anesthesia they give you includes some sort of stuff to give you amnesia, I don’t really remember anything much about the recovery room except them showing me a picture of the polyp they removed (the doc said it was nothing to worry about). Fortunately, my husband was there to pay attention to anything important, like no alcohol today, no aspirin or ibuprofen for 2 weeks, etc.

A while after we got home, I asked him if he helped me get dressed, or if I dressed myself. He said that when he came into the room, I was dressed and sitting in the chair knitting.  I certainly don’t remember that at all! Evidently I told him and the nurse that I could knit in my sleep. And it must be true.  All I can say is, it’s a good thing it was just stockinette in the round, because I didn’t even mess it up.

By the way, have you seen the Knitter’s Fall 2008 preview?

Look, you can wear this, uh, thing with either end up. As a turtleneck, or as a turtlebottom. I’m not sure why you’d want to, though. But I suppose somebody probably will. Just because you can.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Knitting in my Sleep

  1. Wow. Glad you’re screening went well!! 🙂

  2. Duh–I must be typing in my sleep if I used such bad grammar in my last post. Thank goodness you knit better than I type!

  3. Cayenne says:

    I cannot believe you are 50–not that that is old or anything. You just look a lot younger. That “thing” is very interesting.

  4. If only you could give a bit more information that would be great.

  5. Ick! I’m glad you’re fine!

  6. Carrie K says:

    A colonoscopy? I am not turning 50. That’s that.

    A turtlebottom? Only Rick Mondragon.

    Why am I not surprised High West Rye was featured in your new drink?

  7. Nora says:

    Good for you for getting that over with.

    I am completely freaked out by the whole amnesia drug thing. It must leave all your governors and skills intact – you just can’t remember anything after. You should have taken lace, just to see what would have happened!

  8. Carole says:

    I knit when I had my colonoscopy – right up until they took me in to have the procedure. It really kept me calm.

  9. Chris says:

    Was your gauge the same as usual?! 🙂

    Hee hee – I like the Knitters theme title: “Seeking Relief.” Yup. That’s us, from that magazine!

  10. Anne B. says:

    I hate that drug!! I’m glad it went well, by the way, was it perfect knitting you did?

  11. Anne says:

    Yessss….. Versed. It would be my drug o’ choice, if I… you know.. HAD a drug of choice. I’ve had a scope every 18 months for the last 15 years and it is the only good part. Fun, eh?

    I too wondered about the getting-dressed part. It’s a bit concerning no one seems to know how it happens.

  12. Miss T says:

    See, if they warned people about things like this ahead of time, nobody would turn 50. Or at least they wouldn’t admit it anywhere near any medical people.

  13. Dana says:

    Ugh. That turtlething is hideous in every way, upside down OR right side up. What I always tell my journalism students: Just because you CAN, doesn’t mean you SHOULD. 🙂 Dana (first comment)

Leave a Reply

