Throw an Egg Over It

The title of today’s post refers to a family joke. Whenever we aren’t sure what to do with leftovers, the joke is to “throw an egg over it”. It’s amazing how often that works. Especially with Mexican food.

I was very excited to see that Costco has the Sabra hummus back again. I love this brand! But I have to admit, buying it at Costco, it’s an awful lot. So I’ve been trying to be creative in using it. Obviously it’s great as a dip for chips or veggies, or as a spread for sandwiches. Or even just to spoon up straight from the container (I’m not admitting to anything, here). But there’s still a lot to eat. So what did I do? Why, throw an egg over it, of course.

May I present my “Huevos Athenos“:

Huevos Athenos

Turn on the oven to 250 degrees (F).

Fry a tortilla (flour in my case, but corn would be fine) in olive oil until nicely browned. Flip it and brown on the other side. Throw it on a cookie sheet, and smear (or schmear, the correct technical term) some hummus over it, then sprinkle on some grated cheddar cheese. Pop it in the oven to keep warm.

Then fry up one or two eggs. I prefer to cook them to medium, but of course, cook them as you like. When the eggs are done, take the tortilla out of the oven and put it on a plate. Top with the eggs. Garnish with some kalamata olive tapenade (Whole Foods makes a really yummy one), or some Sicilian bruschetta topping from Costco (basically an olive tapenade with tomatoes).

In all honesty, I’d still prefer Huevos Rancheros. But this made a pretty decent alternative.

Any other suggestions for using up the hummus?

And since I wouldn’t want to disappoint my readers who are probably expecting some sort of alcoholic beverage from me, here’s the newest cocktail. Just remember, I do this all for you. But for those who don’t drink alcohol, hang in there, OK? Trust me on this.

As I mentioned the other day, I normally prefer non-sweet beverages. But sometimes, a sweet drink just hits the spot. One of my favorites is a Mojito. I happened across a recipe for an Orange Mojito the other day, and just couldn’t resist. I looked at a few recipes, and this is what I came up with:

Orange-Basil Mojito

6-10 basil leaves (depending on size of the leaves, and your personal taste – I used 6 large)
1 oz lime juice (preferably fresh-squeezed)
1/2 oz simple syrup (substitute 1 1/2 tsp sugar and 1 1/2 tsp water if necessary)
1 1/2 oz light rum
2 oz orange juice
1 to 1 1/2 oz club soda
ice

Place the basil leaves, lime juice, and simple syrup (or sugar and water) in a cocktail glass, and mash them with a muddler or wooden spoon handle. Add the ice, rum, orange juice, and top with club soda. Stir and serve.

By all means, if you don’t do alcohol, just leave out the rum. In that case, I’d suggest doubling the recipe, and you might want to use a little bit more club soda.

It’s positively delightful. And don’t fear the basil – the flavor isn’t as strong as you might think.

Orange Mojito

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Throw an Egg Over It

  1. Cookie says:

    So true about the egg and Mexican food. I think that’s one of the reasons there are always leftovers.

    Interesting drink.

    I had a Crown Royal with lemon-lime Friday afternoon. Then I started adding lemonade to top it off and it got better and better. And that was my one boozey drink for the year. *L*

  2. Amy says:

    That’s the great thing about eggs. They’re so versatile. Not to mention yummy.

  3. Carrie K says:

    Oh, that does sound pretty good as a virgin drink. I happen to have leftover basil leaves (from stripping my plants and making pesto).

    It’s completely true about eggs. I tend to take all the vggies in the frig and make a frittata out of them.

    Yum. That huevos athenos looks pretty good. Afternoon snack!

    You can use up hummus the old fashioned way, pigging out on baked pita bread and scooping it.

  4. Nora says:

    The egg, like the potato and the M&M, are among God’s perfect foods.

    I have the same problem with Costco hummus. Delicious, but too much. My solution is usually to invite some people over and serve it to them, with cocktails!

  5. Chris says:

    Beyond the usual baby carrots dipped in hummus, I can’t help! You are far more creative with the food than am I.

  6. debbie says:

    what? you can’t concoct some kind of hummus cocktail?

  7. Carrie says:

    That is the best recipe for using fresh basil that I have ever seen. The hummus cocktail sounds interesting, though =)

  8. margene says:

    We snatched (shut up) the Sabra, too! It’s the best. See you shortly! 😉

  9. Cayenne says:

    Thanks for the non-alcholic version. It sounds really nummy. Now I just need some fresh basil and club soda!

  10. Miss T says:

    Huevos Athenos… :o) You’re cracking me up! Looks good, though.

  11. Maureen says:

    I mix hummus about half and half with homemade vinagrette…top steamed veggies, and/or grilled chicken/fish, serve over rice/salad greens and you’ve got lunch or dinner. Mine lasts a good bit in the fridge if I’ve been over eager in making hummus. When I crave it, I CRAVE it! But the craving ends after a few days. (???)

Leave a Reply

