Virgin Orange

I decided to make another one of those delicious Orange-Basil Mojitos yesterday, and took the finished drink downstairs to my husband to let him have a taste (he wasn’t home for the first try). He took a sip, said “That is SO good!”, put it out of my reach, and said “Go away!”. I guess he liked it. And he’s not even a big basil fan!

I went out and picked more basil for a second drink. Before I’d finished making it, he was in the kitchen, putting his empty glass next to mine with a pleading look on his face. “That was so refreshing!”, he said hopefully.

Yes, I’ll make another one for you. Because I love you.

And because I love you TOO, my dear readers, I also worked on a non-alcoholic version. This came out pretty well:

Virgin Orange-Basil Mojito

12-15 fresh basil leaves
1/4 cup fresh lime juice (about 2 limes)
1 ounce (2 Tbsp) simple syrup*
1/2 cup orange juice
3 to 4 ounces 1 to 2 ounces (2 to 4 Tbsp) club soda (optional)
Edit: I tried this again and think it’s better with less club soda. Or leave it out entirely, if you prefer.

Put the basil leaves, lime juice, and simple syrup in a glass, and smash up a bit (just to bruise the leaves). Add the ice, orange juice and club soda. Stir. Adjust any ingredients to your personal preference.

* Simple Syrup:

Equal parts of sugar and water, heated enough to dissolve the sugar – then let it cool. For example, mix 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup water and heat and stir until the sugar dissolves. Let cool.

Feeling adventurous? How about trying a Watermelon, Cranberry, or Pomegranate Mojito. And if you do, let me know how they are.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Virgin Orange

  1. margene says:

    Ooo, I’ll go for the watermelon!

  2. Chris says:

    What, you aren’t going to test drive them for us??

  3. OOH, I’ll have to try the “virgin” version! 😉

  4. Lani says:

    Seriously I think you may have missed your calling as a mixologist! 😉

  5. Carole says:

    I think you should teach Larry to make this for YOU. I finally taught Dale to make a martini just the way I like it and it’s so great when I ask him to make me one now.

  6. Cookie says:

    I think Carole is onto something.

  7. Gwen says:

    Now I know what to do with the Basil growing on my window sill (gift from son & girlfriend). Gotta run out for the OJ

  8. Miss T says:

    That sounds fabulous!

Leave a Reply

