WIP Wednesday

I’m currently somewhat MIA and cannot upload photos, but I’ve finished Eileen, and I just love it. The size came out just the way I wanted. I haven’t been able to give it a final blocking yet, but hopefully I’ll have some photos for you soon.

So now I’m back to the Alpine Lace Shawl and getting started again on Tubey, while I think about whether or not I want to try sneaking in another summer top before the end of the season.

I’ve also been able to cross off one of those “things to do before I die” items off my list. I finally got to try some raw milk, which I purchased at the Real Foods market in Heber City.  This is a really small store, but they have a larger store in Orem, and supposedly they’re going to open a store in Salt Lake City within the next year. I hope they do! They have some really interesting items that I haven’t seen in other stores. I really liked the milk, by the way. It does taste different, though I’m not quite sure how to describe the difference. I’m not really much of a milk drinker – normally I only use it for cooking, or on the rare occasion that I have cereal. But I did think this was quite good, and Larry, who does drink milk, agreed.

I must admit total defeat in another area, however. I have given up on the 100 push ups program. I really struggled with Week 4, and ended up redoing that week. But then I just couldn’t manage Week 5. I was also getting pretty tired of having my arms and back ache all of the time. But at least I can do a lot more push ups than I could when I started the program. And I’m still planning to include them in my exercise routine, but just not at this level.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WIP Wednesday

  1. Norma says:

    a) I bought some raw milk goat’s cheese today which I really love. I haven’t had actual raw (drinking) milk for a long time, though. Just the idea is so much better, though. I’m just about through the roof about the FDA’s new ruling allowing irradiation of vegetables!!!!!

    b) Can’t wait to see your sweater.

    c) For years, even though I have very wide shoulders and a lot of strong muscles, and CAN do men-style pushups, I also would suffer The Ache after doing them. This past year when I was doing them, I didn’t, though, and kept progressing, though I never really tried to get to 100 at a time. I don’t know if it’s an age difference or what is different. Maybe I was doing them with better form? But ever since graduation when I overused my body for the marathon work session, my shoulder has bothered me and I haven’t been able to do pushups again. Damnit. And I’ve got SO MUCH WORK right now, I’m afraid I’ll hurt myself again. So I’m trying to be diligent about the yoga, because it really helps the sore shoulder.

  2. Cookie says:

    Raw milk? Oh my… You’re a better man than I am. ;^)

  3. Chris says:

    I’m sure I tried raw milk when I was wee, since one of my mom’s cousins had a dairy farm. No memory of it…

    It’s good to know when not to overdo! Including them in your regular routine will do the same thing as the program – just not as brutally.

  4. Carrie K says:

    I’m fairly sure I’ve had raw milk too but I would probably always default to pasteurized if given a choice. Yes, I fear nature more than chemistry. 🙂

    Want to see the sweater!

    The weather is 103 here today, you can always come this way for your tubey. 🙂

  5. Anne says:

    When I was a kid and my great-uncles still ran the family dairy, we’d go and get a small metal milk bucket full just out of the cow, but before the pasturizer. That stuff made the BEST rice pudding in the world. I think I lived on it for a couple of summers during a particularly picky eating phase.

  6. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Oooh – just saw the pattern for the first time on Ravelry – am speechless I love it so! And I can’t wait to knit that one on the sly, then show my hubby. He tends to be ‘grateful’ and ‘appreciative’ when I knit pretty openwork things like that. (It is SO nice to be married to someone who likes what I knit!!)

  7. Miss T says:

    I’m in the anti-milk contingent–didn’t even like it as a child. So I can’t imagine what raw milk would be like!

  8. You’ve got great arms anyway.

    I look forward to seeing the Eileen.

    I’m not sure I’d try the milk…Pasteurization was a bit of a public health miracle. Plus, milk’s for the kid and the lattes around here.

Leave a Reply

