Once Upon a Dream

Have you ever had dreams where, whether you remembered them at the time or not, you later remember them as if they were actual memories instead of dreams?

Maybe I’m totally nuts, but this has certainly happened to me. (Not very often–I’m not that crazy, I hope–but occasionally.) Usually I -know- that what I’m “remembering” didn’t really happen, so it had to have been a dream. Or I remember that I dreamed it at some time in the past. But other times, I’m not so sure. And once or twice in my life I’ve mentioned something to someone who insisted that whatever I was talking about didn’t happen, and I must have dreamed it.

It’s actually kind of scary.

Well, at any rate, I had a pretty strange dream last night, but at least I know it was a dream. I had an idea to make french toast, but instead of using the usual flavorings like vanilla and cinnamon, I would use poultry seasoning type herbs. Sage, thyme, etc. It would be sort of like turkey stuffing in french toast form. But I wasn’t quite sure how I would serve it. Would I just pour gravy over it instead of maple syrup? Or maybe just dice it and serve it as a side dish? Hey – maybe I’ve come up with the next new taste sensation.

It’s OK, I know I’m strange. You don’t need to tell me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Once Upon a Dream

  1. Cayenne says:

    That has happened to me off and on. I like it. It makes me feel like maybe I’m going in the right direction–like de ja vu. Did you see that movie? I thought it was pretty cool.

  2. Chris says:

    I have had that thing where a dream seems so real later that you think it happened! Hmm, I’m guessing you would just serve that dressing toast with a lot of butter. 😉

  3. Carole says:

    I’ve had those sorts of dreams. I’m not sure about your culinary ideas but I like gravy so perhaps that would work for me.

  4. Stacey says:

    It actually sounds kind of yummy. I may have to give it a try as a side dish. Well, when I go back to cooking.

  5. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    I have definitely had that happen, and while I like it from one perspective (of the scientific/psychological sort) I really would rather it not happen. I feel off-balance when I remember them, like I’m almost falling because I can’t get my brain around it. Ick.

    On the other hand, I think the savory french toast sounds pretty darned interesting. Let me know if you whip up that recipe – I’ll surely try it!

  6. Dream, or nightmare?

    😉

  7. Lani says:

    If you try it be sure to let us know how it tastes! 😉

  8. Carrie K says:

    I’ve confused dreams and reality. Too bad it was a dream.

    Savory french toast sounds pretty good. After all, we eat toast w/eggs.

  9. Miss T says:

    Savory french toast actually sounds good. There are savory bread puddings, so why not? You could serve it with roast chicken and a little pan sauce.

  10. Julie says:

    I’ve had that happen to me many times (because apparently I AM that crazy).

    I think your french toast idea sounds pretty good; stuffing is the best part of a turkey dinner!

Leave a Reply

