Tubey, Take Two – and another WIP

I decided to frog back the body stripes on Tubey and start over. I think I’m a bit happier with this version. I don’t really think I would have been UNhappy with the previous version, but this is the one I’ll stick with. I guess next time I should really plan out the stripes a bit better ahead of time instead of just knitting something. Or not. Most likely not.

Tubey, Take Two

I’m actually much farther along than shown in the photo above. After spending several hours knitting and watching construction guys, I have about four more inches of the body done.

The other WIP is our new garage.

I discovered that my neighbor’s covered deck was a very nice place to sit and knit, and watch the goings on. Sadly, the guys finished at 3:00, and won’t need to come back tomorrow. Now we just wait a while for the cement pad to cure before they come back and finish the job. But on the bright side, once the temperatures warmed up around noon, shirts started coming off. I know Cookie and Lani will be glad to hear that.

The deconstruction was an amazing thing. It only took 2 minutes (literally) for them to tear down the old garage. Of course, it took much longer for them to haul all the pieces off to the dumpster. But the entire garage fit into one dumpster.

Then they leveled everything out and poured the new foundation. It was really interesting to watch them take off their shirts work the cement. Even my neighbor and his daughter came out to sit with me and watch the proceedings. It’s surprising how quickly the concrete hardens enough for them to crawl around on top of it.

While all of that was going on, they also ripped out the old driveway and leveled the surface from our house to our neighbor’s. The new driveway will take up the whole space from house to house, instead of having a couple of feet of gravel on each side. That will make it much easier to maintain, especially when it comes to shoveling snow.

My husband was planning to dig a trench to run the electrical wires out to the garage. According to code, it has to be 18″ deep. That would be an awful lot of digging. He talked the construction guys into digging the trench with their bobcat, and gave them a very healthy tip for doing so. It probably saved him a couple of days of hard labor. The guys were so sweet – they said they hardly ever get any tips.

The new pad is so pretty – it’s almost a shame to put a garage on top of it.

Final Troweling

I don’t want to post a lot of photos, because whenever I do, Ravelry decides to stop picking up my feed for weeks. But if you click here, you can see all of my beefcake construction shots, where you can embiggen to your heart’s content. And for equal opportunity, there’s something for the guys, too. And dog lovers. Oh, and Lani and Cookie, make sure you visit page 2. I left something for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tubey, Take Two – and another WIP

  1. Stacey says:

    Shit! II miss all the fun! Both you and Angie have had some great eye candy lately. /sigh Maybe, if I get this house I’m putting an offer in on…maybe then I can hire my own.

  2. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    I always enjoy watching professionals work. The optional-shirt thing is fun, too. Way to go Larry getting those guys with a machine to do the tough stuff. (I hate trenches. Hate.Them.) But Cheryl, “Nice Hose”? You are so, so bad.

  3. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Oh, and Tubey looks very nice; I definitely like the new stripe pattern better. PS – Diamond Illusions is on the way, I can’t wait!!

  4. I will keep that in mind about the tipping the guys. My man has a fantasy of tearing our garage out and replacing it with a heated one with an upstairs workshop. According to me, that is far, far off on the horizon, several dozen home improvement projects down the list.

  5. margene says:

    Tubey does look better in her new colors. Thanks for the beefcake! Oh and, speaking of Ravelry, if you want to ‘steal the picture of the fabulous leg warmers for your Rav FOs please do so! I can’t thank you enough for them…they feel FABULOUS!

  6. Julie says:

    Tubey is looking good (as are the construction workers).

  7. Miss T says:

    Tubey’s looking good!

  8. Norma says:

    Woot. I take it they’re not Mormons. ROFL.

  9. Cookie says:

    Yummy!

    I mean, nice sweater in progress over there.

  10. Lani says:

    Bahahahaha!!! Awesome!! I love that one dude’s tats! 😀 Dare I show husband my new picture?!? (Actually he won’t care – I don’t think – since the photos remind me of when he and I first met and he was working construction…)

    Tubey is lovely as well! (We can’t forget the knits… they may revolt!) 😉

  11. Anne says:

    Brilliant tipping on Larry’s part. We are fortunate to have a neighbor with a backhoe, but have occasionally had to dig trenches by hand. It’s awful work.

    Yeah…. nice hose… that is JUST what I was thinking.

  12. Carrie K says:

    Oh yes. Very pretty new pad. Hardly even notice the barechested guys on top of it.

    Tubey does look better in its second incarnation! I had to check your Flickr photoes to be sure. You never can tell until you knit it though.

Leave a Reply

