Savory French Toast

You knew I’d do it, didn’t you?

 

Savory French Toast

Thinking about the idea of French Toast that was savory instead of sweet just kept going through my mind after that dream. After all, it’s basically just eggs, milk, and bread. That should go with just about anything. I even Googled it to see what ideas were already out there. Although I didn’t see anything quite like the idea I’d had in my dream, I certainly found a few interesting and delicious-sounding recipes.

Like Arugula and Chicken Sausage Bread PuddingSavory French Toast, or Savory French Toast with Asparagus and Gruyere. I’m still pondering the blurb/link at the bottom of the last recipe. “For more stimulating recipes, try The New Intercourses Cookbook.”

I did like the idea I saw on a few recipes to add some Parmesan cheese, thinking that it would add a nice crust to the French Toast.

So I just went for it, and here’s my first attempt:

Savory French Toast

2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1 Tbsp finely chopped fresh sage, sauteed in butter
1/4 tsp dried thyme, crushed
1/4 tsp salt
freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese (2-year Parmigiano-Reggiano)
butter

8 slices bread (I used rosemary olive oil bread)

Beat the eggs and milk together until blended, then add the remaining ingredients except the bread. Heat a bit of butter in a frying pan (I used the same pan I sauteed the sage in). Dip the bread into the egg mixture and coat well on both sides. Fry until golden brown on both sides. Feel free to substitute whatever combination of herbs suits you, of course.

When tasting this plain, I thought that perhaps the cheese flavor was a bit too strong. (Did I really just say that?) But then again, I was using a pretty strong Parmesan. But if I was going to just eat the toast “as is”, I still think I might cut down the cheese to only 2 Tablespoons next time.

But really, I think this idea works best as a base for something else. I loved Miss T’s idea of serving it with roast chicken and a little pan sauce. Or perhaps making an open-faced hot turkey sandwich? But sadly, no poultry will be found in Casa de CabledSheep. DH hasn’t had meat or fowl since 1972.

DH tried a bite of the plain French Toast, even though I told him it might be a little too seasoned for him that way. And he did turn up his nose at it. But all of that changed when I served it for dinner, topped with Halibut Provençal (recipe follows).

French Toast with Halibut

After wolfing it down, DH said he could eat another. I asked if he just wanted the halibut, but he said no – he wanted it just like I’d made it, over the french toast. And he gobbled that right down, too, declaring it a winner.

The halibut idea came after I’d already made the french toast. Otherwise, I probably would have chosen a different selection of herbs – probably basil and oregano instead of the sage. But still, the flavors went together nicely.

And what to do with the leftovers? Well, as mom always said, just throw an egg over it. So I did. (Shown here with a vegetarian sausage patty.) I thought this was quite tasty, though DH called it just “OK”.

Savory French Toast with egg

I’d call this experiment a success. I can certainly see making it again, modifying the herbs for different dishes. Oh, and don’t worry, I didn’t forget about that halibut recipe:

Halibut Provençal, from Red Rock Brewing Co. (one of our local brew pubs)
(Serves 1)

3 or 4 pieces (2 ounces each) center cut halibut fillets
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
Salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup olive oil, divided
1 teaspoon minced shallot
1/4 teaspoon minced garlic
1/2 cup diced fresh Roma tomatoes
1/4 cup chopped basil
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons dry white wine
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon unsalted butter

Rinse halibut and pat dry. In a bowl, add flour and season with salt and pepper to taste. Lightly dredge halibut in flour mixture.
In a saute pan over medium heat, warm half of the oil. Place fish in pan, being careful not to crowd. Brown halibut, about 2 minutes on each side, or until just cooked through. Remove from pan. Cover and keep warm.
Wipe pan with a paper towel. Return to heat and add remaining oil. Add shallot and garlic. Saute until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add tomatoes and basil. Saute 1 minute. Stir in wine, lemon juice and butter. Cook until butter is melted.
Pour tomato mixture over halibut and serve.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Savory French Toast

  1. Anne says:

    You are much more adventurous an eater than I! I think I’ll stick with maple syrup.

  2. Isn’t it fun to feed your man?

  3. Carole says:

    I think that sounds fabulous! I love the idea of the hot turkey sandwich with the french toast and your halibut recipe is making me drool. I’m going to check out the one with the gruyere and asparagus, too – yummm!

  4. Stacey says:

    sounds wonderful. maybe i can get texas to make it

  5. margene says:

    Leave it to you to come up with the perfect dream recipe. I love the idea with fish!

  6. Norma says:

    Mmmm, I’m envisioning it with chevre and those slow-roasted tomatoes I do, and basil. Or creamed salmon. Or spinach. Or ratatouille. Or a million things! It’s a wonderful idea….except for the bread is not my friend, but we’ll forget that for the time being.

  7. Lani says:

    Mmmm… Parmesean French toast!! Maybe I’ll top mine with salsa… Now you’ve got me wanting to be adventurous!

  8. Cookie says:

    I wasn’t sure going in, but it does sound lovely with the halibut.

  9. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    You totally rock! I’m kicking the kids out so hubby and I can be adventurous and enjoy it, instead of listening to, “What IS this? I am not eating it.” Thank you for sharing!

  10. Julie says:

    It does sound good with the Hailbut and the leftovers with the egg and “saugsage” sounds great too!

  11. Carrie K says:

    Oh, yum. Only catnip seasoning could make those any better.

  12. Chris says:

    Interesting… but I think I’m going to stick with the classic French toast.

  13. Maureen says:

    Thanks…I found your recipe so no need to answer my Flickr request! Using the french toast as a base sounds quite interesting and a good change from rice etc.

  14. MissF says:

    http://fxcuisine.com/default.asp?Display=99

    I thought you might be interested in this, since you are looking for savory french toast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

