WIP and Rant Wednesday

I hate air travel. Well, actually, I like to fly. I just hate that there’s anyone else on the plane besides me and the flight crew.

I thought it would be a nice change to fly down to Vegas instead of drive, especially since I found some relatively cheap flights.

Heh.

On our flight down there, I was pleased to discover that there were no noisy children anywhere near us, and thought it might be a relatively quiet flight. We were in a row with 2 seats on the left, and 3 on the right (we had the aisle and middle on the right). A young couple was seated across the aisle to the left. Right after sitting down, the male half of the couple pulled up his knees and propped his dirty shoes on the seat. Charming.

After takeoff, music started spewing forth out of the earphone jack on the armrest belonging to the woman on our right. Since she had no headphones, I guess she thought this was pretty neat, and put it on the opera channel, and cranked it up to max volume so she could hear it. As if that wasn’t annoying enough, all of a sudden I started hearing music coming from across the aisle. At first I thought it was another malfunctioning jack issue, and couldn’t figure out where it was coming from. After a while, I noticed that the lovely couple on the left had some sort of I-gizmo out, and were playing it loudly. I couldn’t believe it – I’ve never seen anyone do that, and frankly, I’m surprised the flight attendant didn’t say anything to them about it. Now I had loud music attacking me from both sides, of totally opposite types. Fortunately, I had my own headphones, so I was able to put them in and listen to the airplane’s crappy musical selection to drown out the war.

On the way back, there was a family with a crew of children several rows behind us. Not screaming, crying children, but evidently very happy children. Turns out that was just as bad. The older children were pretty quiet, but the baby gurgled, giggled, and babbled, while the toddler chanted “La la la, la la la, la la la” FOR THE ENTIRE 1 1/2 HOURS WE WERE ON THE PLANE. As far as I could tell, the parents made no effort to stop it. Oh, wait – I take that back. After we landed, the children all got quiet. Then the toddler started up again, and the mother went “Shhhh” one time, and they all were quiet again. (Uhhh – maybe she could have tried that an hour and a half earlier?)  As we entered the airport terminal, some man behind us said “Finally – quiet!”, and he and some of the other passengers all started grumbling about the parents. Sadly, I had accidentally packed my headphones in my checked bag, so I had to be “la-la’d” to death.

I think it may be worth the extra time to drive. With all of the time you spend in the plane and the airport, it really only saves us about 3 hours each way anyway.

On the plus side, I got a lot of knitting done on Susie. But I’m getting very, very nervous about how much yarn is left. Even though I have more yardage than called for in the pattern, it’s not looking too promising. (Yes, I did make it longer, but not THAT much longer.)  Hmmm.  We’ll soon see. Sorry for crummy photo of black yarn.

Susie

And there’s another WIP going on today – the garage is starting to go up.

Garage gets started

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WIP and Rant Wednesday

  1. margene says:

    Oh dear…a month from today I leave on a midnight flight to NY/Boston. I am not relishing flying with a plane full of snorers or worse.
    Yay for the garage!

  2. LisaK says:

    I know what you mean…. and then there is that one woman with the high, sickly sweet, nasaly voice that knows everything about absolutely everything and talks non-stop for the entire flight. Since she never gives another person a chance to get a word in, you have no idea who she is talking to. UGH!

  3. Cookie says:

    You are a much nicer/better person than I am. I would have had a little chat with the toddler that would have left it silent and stunned.

    Remember when flying was a big deal? Everyone dressed up and was on their best behavior. I miss those days.

    Susie is looking good, but I’m wondering why I see shirts on those garage men. ;^)

  4. Miriam says:

    I love my headphones, they sit IN my ear, so they are semi-noise canceling. I ignore the people around me and listen to music loudly enough to drown them AND the plane noise out, without bothering the people around me.

    There was this one flight that was too short to really get to use the headphones and there was a douche bag who kept using his phone well past the time when they’re supposed to be turned off, and then turned it on again mid-flight. The attendant had to keep saying “Sir, you need to turn off and stow that device” over and over. Pissed me right off.

  5. Chris says:

    Yikes – I’m glad you survived!

    Heh – I’m familiar with the excitement of the black project in progress photo.

  6. Lani says:

    Sorry to hear about your flights! That sucks majorly! (And if you don’t have to be the driver, the 3 hours each way driving is just more knitting time!) 🙂

    Ooh! Does the garage construction mean more hot male shirtlessness?

  7. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    The flights sounded awful… I’m regularly amazed at people’s belief that they have a right to be rude. I’m with Lani – some non-stop knitting time is the real key to a successful trip. I just wish I could figure out how to let my children drive so I can knit…

    Can’t wait to see the garage going up – I love me some construction projects!

  8. Julie says:

    First of all (and most importantly), haven’t the construction workers been informed that their uniforms do not include shirts?!

    Secondly, your flights sound horrible; I’m surprised the flight attendants didn’t say something to those rude people.

  9. Carrie K says:

    If you knit faster, you won’t run out of yarn.

    That’s the problem with flying. People. Why can’t everyone just sit quietly? The first time I went camping and an RV pulled up with their TELEVISION set was the last straw.

  10. Anne says:

    I don’t like travel. Period. I am a homebody. And I HATE flying (although to be honest, I don’t like driving much either…)

  11. Laritza says:

    I hear you! Where it is really bad is on the train, people talk on their cell phones like there is no tomorrow. I take that back! they do not talk, they scream! I guess it is because they are far away from the person on the other end? Noise canceling headphones from Bose, worth every single penny I paid for them!

  12. Stacey says:

    Ick! You just reminded me why I hate flying.

  13. Miss T says:

    One of the many reasons why air travel is so uncivilized that we just don’t do it anymore.

  14. Norma says:

    Another reason I HATE KIDS. Honestly, I really truly DO. But maybe I hate the parents even more. Nobody knows how to raise kids or dogs anymore. Heh.

Leave a Reply

