Susie Q

Yes, it’s another FO. This one was mostly knitted on my trip to Las Vegas last weekend.

Susie - back

Susie - front

Pattern: Susie, by Debbie Bliss, from Summer Essentials.
Yarn: RYC Merino Silk DK, 7 skeins
Needles: 3.75 mm / US 5
Size: Custom – see below.
Ravelry: Pattern page, and my project.

The pattern was written for Debbie Bliss Pure Silk DK, but I didn’t really want to make it out of pure silk, and was just keeping my eye out for something else. When I saw this RYC Merino Silk DK at Unraveled Sheep’s progressive sale, I decided to grab it. I’m not sure it was the best yarn choice, because it’s a little bit heavy and will probably be quite warm, but it feels and looks nice.

The smallest size said it was to fit bust size 32-34″, but with a finished size of 35.75. Hmmm. I’m not sure why you’d want that much positive ease in a ribbed top. I thought that even the small would be a little too big, so I decreased the total number of stitches by 12. Even at that, it’s plenty loose.

I also added 2″ to the length, but now I’m thinking that might have been a mistake. I might snip a thread and shorten it a bit.

Other than changes for size, the only modification I made was to add a little bit of short-row shaping at the shoulder seam, and doing a 3-needle bind-off instead of casting off and seaming.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Susie Q

  1. Cookie says:

    It’s beautiful, Cheryl! Well done!

  2. margene says:

    That was quick! I’d forgotten this was on your needles. Are you going to wear it as a vest come winter? You could/should!

  3. Monica says:

    Wow! It looks really elegant. Nice work!

  4. Lani says:

    Holy cow! You’re on a FO roll! (Would you like some of my UFOs?) 😉

    That’s a great top too!

  5. Anne says:

    It looks very nice, very elegant on you. It’d be stunning with a pair of black pants and some really bling-y bling at the neckline!

  6. Karen says:

    So cute! I love the back!

  7. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Way Cute! Love that one – you go girl!

  8. Norma says:

    Very elegant, and you chose the perfect setup for your photo shoot — this is just perfect for a garden cocktail party or even a wedding! Well done!

  9. Nora says:

    Another lovely FO – you are on a roll!

  10. Anne B. says:

    My goodness Darhling you look positively ready for the garden party! I hope the Queen makes an appearance, as you look lovely!!

  11. Chris says:

    Another very flattering FO!

  12. Miss T says:

    Very pretty! I love it.

Leave a comment