Whiskey and Whiskey

Or: Gimme a Double

Whether you prefer the fibery kind of Whiskey, or the drinkable kind, I’ve got something for you.

First there’s the Reynolds Whiskey, in a heathery purplish color. I grabbed a couple of these at Black Sheep Wool Co’s sale, and am planning to make some gloves.

Reynolds Whiskey

And the other whiskey? Well, that one’s all Miss T’s fault. Really it is.

While you all know I love a cocktail, I don’t normally like using pre-made mixers. Why drink chemicals, when you can have the real stuff? I’ve cultivated from-scratch recipes for most of the drinks I like, but one thing I hadn’t tackled yet was a Whiskey Sour. Mainly because I still had some sour mix that was leftover from a party, and I’ve been using it up. But then Miss T had to go and write this post about the delicious recipe she tried. All I needed was a few lemons, which I picked up after my afternoon yarn adventure. It was hard to wait until the evening when my sister arrived for her visit, but I managed.

Awesome. Simply awesome. Truly the finest Whiskey Sour I’ve ever had. Not too strong, though you could certainly add a bit more whiskey if you like. But I thought the balance of flavors was just right as it was.

Whiskey Sour

You will notice that a) the glass is either half-full or half-empty, depending on your viewpoint (since I already drank half of it, I will call it half-empty) and b) there is no maraschino cherry. Since the Pontiff once worked on a cherry farm and saw how they were made, he refuses to allow them in the house. Now don’t panic, eating them isn’t going to kill you, but truly, do you really want to eat something that’s been bleached and pumped full of preservatives by people wearing full body suits to protect them from the chemicals, soaked in high fructose corn syrup, dyed with artificial coloring, and flavored with artificial flavoring?

Just check out the ingredients:

Cherries, Water, Corn Syrup, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Citric Acid, Natural & Artificial Flavor, Potassium Sorbate and Sodium Benzoate, FD&C Red #40, and sulfur dioxide.

Tasty, eh? An article in the New York Times referred to them as “the culinary equivalent of an embalmed corpse.

I guess my next quest will have to be either to try a home-made maraschino cherry recipe, such as the one in the New York Times article, or at least seek out some of the natural brands that are undyed and without preservatives.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Whiskey and Whiskey

  1. Chris says:

    Ewww about the maraschino cherries!

  2. margene says:

    We need a new winter drink, but that one is not it…too much corn, too much sugar. Sadly is sounds heavenly!

  3. Cookie says:

    Suddenly, I am very glad that I can no longer have maraschino cherries. Maybe the food allergies are protecting me.

  4. margene says:

    Smith just did some research on Tonic (quinine) and found that neither one of us should be drinking it. It just might be the source of my mouth rash! SO, we’re going to change to cherryless whiskey sours. Thanks!!

  5. Norma says:

    Mmmm, sounds GREAT. I’ve always been seriously afraid of maraschino cherries, but never really knew why ’til now! I’ve got to get my daughter to stop eating them!

  6. Oh, sick! I had no idea about the M-cherries. I should have known, they taste so fake…

  7. Carrie K says:

    Ha. I always knew cherries were evil. (All cherries).

    Ooooh. Your needle case is coolaphonic. So is Cecret Lake. (the view AND the spelling).

  8. Julie says:

    That drink looks pretty tasty without the yucky cherries!

  9. Stacey says:

    Erm… ummm… UGH! But, but… I’ll have to find some other bar trick now!

    /runs

  10. Nora says:

    Yuck indeed. I’m not much of a whiskey fan, but I do love the yarn!!

  11. Miss T says:

    Looks half empty to me. I think you need to mix up another batch! :o)

Leave a Reply

